Ritualistic Forums

Ritualistic Forums (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/index.php)
-   EF2 Editing Forum (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Thoughts on starting to make maps for EF2 (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12469)

Final_Frontier 06-29-2003 11:14 AM

Thoughts on starting to make maps for EF2

I don't know if this thread should be moved to the editing forum or to somewhere else but I'll just post it here and see what happens. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]

I am thinking of starting to make maps for EF2 and I have a few questions. You should know that I am completely new to this (map making of ANY kind), so I'm a complete n00b. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] Thinking of that last scentence I just wrote, maybe it's to hard for me to start making maps with such complex tools as the first thing I do. Well, that's what I intend to find out. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Right, the questions (some -all?- are directed to those with a bit of experience in the subject)!
What experience does it take (what things should you have done/tried before you get into map making)?
Do I need programming skills (what language)?
Any other tips or help is extremely appreciated (I'm sure that I have forgotten at least a dozen questions).

I hope to be an experienced mapper some day, and I hope this post is the start! I know that I sound like the most naive person in the world but I have to start somewhere.

KevinUK 06-29-2003 11:51 AM

Re: Thoughts on starting to make maps for EF2

Just learn the software that will be released, thats all you need really. You could go on to learn to make textures and stuff but you can avoid that [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Just get the editor and play about [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]