Ritualistic Forums

Ritualistic Forums (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/index.php)
-   SiN Episodes Tech Help (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Wow, this game is a system hog. (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17470)

Tru3_Blu3 05-13-2006 04:18 AM

Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Half-Life2 looks better then this game and it runs better on my PC. SiN is running very ugly on my PC. When ever I see a large enviroment (like the underground part on where you go through this big area and then the bridge explodes) the game goes at like 20 FPS. And this game has very large fire fights, especially the ending. When I was doing those firefighs, it wasn`t running so well. It was really going at the speed of 60-35 FPS. I had all AA and AF off and I still had bad performance on my 7800GT.

I guess Ritual didn`t fully finish the game yet, they must`ve rushed it. Source it supposed to run great on all gaming PCs ( (even low-end ones), but I have a high-end PC and I`m not seeing anything good from the slide-show.

Oh well, the game is still fun. I just beat it and I have to say, the game is intense. But I would really like to see the game going at smooth frame-rates like those trailers.

shortkud 05-13-2006 04:30 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
You would think if everyone had this problem we would be posting. What are the rest of your specs, CPU,RAM,HDD.

Tru3_Blu3 05-13-2006 04:37 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by shortkud:
You would think if everyone had this problem we would be posting. What are the rest of your specs, CPU,RAM,HDD.

Geforce7800GT, Pentium4 EE 3.4Ghz, 1 GB of Duel Channel RAM, 30 GB of HD, and a 500WATT PSU.

PrivateNewbie 05-13-2006 04:43 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
I'm running the game at 1600 by 1200 res... it runs perfect... all the time. Ahaha. My specs are only slightly better than yours... weird.

WretchedSpawn 05-13-2006 05:04 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Funny, I'm running the game smooth as butter at either 1280x1024 w/ 4x Anti-Aliasing or 1600x1200 w/ 2x Anti-Aliasing (take your pick) on a 3 year old 2.26 GHz P4 OC'd to 2.76 GHz and a Geforce 6800 GT...

It's definitely running slightly smoother than HL2 although you're right, it still doesn't look quite as nice.

Do you actually have any proof that the game is "hogging" system resources or are you just saying that because your frame rates suck? This could be caused by any one of a number of issues though my own experiences would seem to suggest that an unquentiable thirst for raw processing power or system memory is not one of them.

Perhaps you are suffering from one of the 'minor issues' noted in this post from the game's lead programmer. Also check this thread.

Are you sure that all of your drivers are up to date?

Ajaxkron 05-13-2006 05:33 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
I'm running on a Geforce FX 5900 Ultra with a 3.2 ghz processor, 1024 MB RAM, and framerate is fairly constant, around 30-45. All settings set to High (AA 2X, AF 4X), with the exception of Shader quality (Default value is high quality; lowered it due to personal preference).

Tried defragging?

Still, SinE does run worse than HL2, although I'm suspecting this is more related to mapping (use of area portals, HINTs, etc.) rather than actual 'code'.

Edit: I'd suggest you get more HD space; it does wonders to in-game performance.

BoogieKnight 05-13-2006 07:10 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Smooth here too (literally 59/60 fps when running around not fighting, going to high 30's low 40's when I have about 7 dead bodies on the floor in one tight spot and more enemies I'm fighting. Most firefights are mid to high 40's and heavy special effetcs (like shields and elexis' hologram) sitting in the 40's too.

Playing in 1280x960 @ 85hz on a P4c 2.8GHz, 1GB 3200DDR, and my 9700 pro. Game looks better than HL2 imo, thanks to it's architecual style and overall visual flare style. Runs just like HL2 does. And no I don't use AA or AF (AF makes fences in steam look...weird, AA is useless at 1280 res for me...not worth the performance hit).

Actually I tried it first at 1024x768 and had stuttering issues at some moments, but then I remembered that I had used some flipping for Oblivion, disabled that as it should be (undefined it) -- Oblivion worked better with it on 1. Anyway, did you maybe tweak your system for one particular game (esp Oblivion)? If so untweak it and see how it runs.

djbell 05-13-2006 08:56 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Wrong forum for this I guess, but since this is a gripe and not a real request for help, I'll bite. I have to run 1680x1050 or things just don't scale right on my screen. Anyway my computer's a year old, I've got an Athlon 3200+ with a gig of ram and a Geforce6600GT. The game runs like silk.

One thing I did was left the textures models and shaders at high, but decreased shadows and switched to bilinear filtering and no AA. I can't notice any hard edges at this res (my screen's 21" and I can't lean too close to it anyway). I have 40 second load times, which kinda blows but I had that issue in Half-Life 2 as well, except the levels felt a lot thinner, less to do or shorter.

shortkud 05-13-2006 09:21 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
You could use a bigger hard drive, the RPM on that 30gb has to suck. Get an 80gb with like 7200rpm. They are like 60bucks USD now

JohnRBladekicksass 05-13-2006 09:23 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
I got a ATi Radeon , 500 mb of ram, and 2 ghz with around 72 Gigs of space on my hard drive. Would Sin run smoothly on my CPU (Half-Life does)

djbell 05-13-2006 10:15 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Well I may have tweaked Sin a little better than I tweaked Half-Life 2, but it does run better than Half-Life 2 for me. I would assume it's the same for most people.

sim_said 05-13-2006 10:35 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
2 gig ram
amd athlon 64 3400+
g-force 6800 gt agp

crashed twice due to ram said game (sorry watching too much star wars)

i also have an xfi elite pro sound card some say this card helps the processor

he_the_great 05-13-2006 08:34 PM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnRBladekicksass:
I got a ATi Radeon , 500 mb of ram, and 2 ghz with around 72 Gigs of space on my hard drive. Would Sin run smoothly on my CPU (Half-Life does)

I think you should be fine. I have Radeon 9000 and 768mb ram. Though if if you have a Radeon card below 9600 the mutantagen will black out your screen unless you force it to run in DX7 mode. I expect them to be patching it this weekend though as they do know about it. (if you want to know when the get it fixed PM me, I will tell you.)

Tru3_Blu3 05-13-2006 08:59 PM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WretchedSpawn:
Funny, I'm running the game smooth as butter at either 1280x1024 w/ 4x Anti-Aliasing or 1600x1200 w/ 2x Anti-Aliasing (take your pick) on a 3 year old 2.26 GHz P4 OC'd to 2.76 GHz and a Geforce 6800 GT...

It's definitely running slightly smoother than HL2 although you're right, it still doesn't look quite as nice.

Do you actually have any proof that the game is "hogging" system resources or are you just saying that because your frame rates suck? This could be caused by any one of a number of issues though my own experiences would seem to suggest that an unquentiable thirst for raw processing power or system memory is not one of them.

Perhaps you are suffering from one of the 'minor issues' noted in this post from the game's lead programmer. Also check this thread.

Are you sure that all of your drivers are up to date?

My drivers are up to date. Are you sure it is my HD? HD is really for program room and even if you loose it all, nothing will change. Also, my HD carries 60 GB at max, I know have 30. My PC is fully defraged and I have no viruses. I don`t know what`s the problem dude.

CommanderZx2 05-13-2006 09:10 PM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tru3_Blu3:
Quote:

Originally posted by shortkud:
You would think if everyone had this problem we would be posting. What are the rest of your specs, CPU,RAM,HDD.

Geforce7800GT, Pentium4 EE 3.4Ghz, 1 GB of Duel Channel RAM, 30 GB of HD, and a 500WATT PSU.

A 30 GB HDD, it must be really old. What is it's RPM and cache? A slow HDD can easily lower performace. What is the speed of that ram?

IronPigeon 05-13-2006 09:37 PM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
HD shouldn't really be the problem unless that game is constanty loading stuff during gameplay. If the game really was using the HD activity during the game then everyone should be noticing performance hits since all HDs are freaking slow. That's just my 2 cents and not a professional opinion.

CommanderZx2 05-13-2006 10:05 PM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Well he might have a 5000 RPM HDD, which is significantly slower than todays average PC with a 7000 RPM+ HDD.

enfestid 05-14-2006 12:20 AM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
Game runs great for me and I only have an average PC. Although I did get a ton of slowdown on the area with the trains (in the Docks).

Shmidley 05-14-2006 04:49 PM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
A lot of people are having this problem AND they are posting about it. Some people have amazing computers, and they run the game with every setting set to the absolute minimum and the game still gets frame rates that are unplayable. M. Russel said they were still looking into the issue.

AgentOtaku 05-14-2006 05:14 PM

Re: Wow, this game is a system hog.
 
I'm one of the people that is also having the lame performance problems....

I run HL2 flawless BTW


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.