Ritualistic Forums

Ritualistic Forums (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/index.php)
-   SiN Episodes Editing (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Making An Arena Mode Map (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18274)

Michael_Russell 07-24-2006 05:39 PM

Making An Arena Mode Map
 
An updated and corrected version of this post is now available in the Wiki!

http://www.ritualediting.com/wiki/?t...Arena_Mode_Map

Sui 07-24-2006 07:23 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
It's as if up until this moment the world has been covered in maple syrup, and just as you made this post, a beautiful woman descended from the heavens and licked it all off in one luscious swoop.

UTWarden 07-24-2006 08:25 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
hhmm I'm forming an Idea. Considering I've Never made a map in my life..... :(

ssj3fox 07-24-2006 10:05 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Can wait to make a map!

PleaseMYOB 07-24-2006 11:06 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Michael_Russell
We're getting closer to releasing the SDK

Dare I ask how much closer?... or am I gonna get one of those replies that basically tells me to refer to my username... lol

CommanderZx2 07-24-2006 11:38 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Would that only be for spawning grunts with pistols and to spawn different enemies you would need to create a different entity for it, Like npc_druglab_grunt_shotgun.

Or does it automatically change the enemy to spawn depending on the current challenege?

Michael_Russell 07-25-2006 12:09 AM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CommanderZx2
Would that only be for spawning grunts with pistols and to spawn different enemies you would need to create a different entity for it, Like npc_druglab_grunt_shotgun.

Or does it automatically change the enemy to spawn depending on the current challenege?

For arena mode, it shifts pistol grunts as far as necessary...even up to elites.

Xenogenetic 07-25-2006 12:10 AM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
I was going to ask that question Commander, and to add to it, is there any manipulation of the dynamic difficulty (ie only spawn enemies with this exact gun) that mappers can use?

IcemanSimo 07-25-2006 02:01 AM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
can you design a second level for the arena map.

I have this mad idea to make a map from the library, reception, classroom and canteen area from school it could work as a good map with the right moddifications to make it larger so it isnt boxed in.

Michael_Russell 07-25-2006 08:29 AM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IcemanSimo
can you design a second level for the arena map.

I have this mad idea to make a map from the library, reception, classroom and canteen area from school it could work as a good map with the right moddifications to make it larger so it isnt boxed in.

I made the bare minimum arena mode map: one room. Aside from the limits of the Source engine, you can make your arena maps as large and complex as you want, but try to keep a decent flow to it.

wisecode 07-25-2006 02:50 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
A few notes:
Make sure Snap to Grid is always on and try to keep the 1024 grid in mind, make your individual areas in 16 unit increments within those 1024 sectors.
Decrease the size of your grid for detail work but leave it at 16 units most of the time.
Not everything needs to be at least 16 units but radiosity in the Source Engine will behave better.
Where light bleed and weapons fire aren't a concern floors and walls can safely be 8 units thick.
Try to never make any brush thinner than 1.0 units, other than in special cases like illusionary glass for layered viewing effects.

ertertwert 07-25-2006 05:49 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
I dabbled in the SDK for HL2 but quickly grew bored. I'm going to try to make a few maps for SiN Eps though.

Xpiredperson 07-25-2006 06:00 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Im gonna learn to use SDK properly just so i can make maps for Sin:E

JoelF 07-25-2006 09:40 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
I'm completely ignorant when it comes to this sort of thing, but I'm curious: Is that an intuitive mapbuilding solution, relatively speaking? It seems to require its own syntax and I hope it's not too finicky. It seems reasonable, but it may be a bit deterring for the person whose only experiments making maps was on his cousin's Tony Hawk game years ago? More specifically... me.

Michael_Russell 07-25-2006 10:08 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JoelF
I'm completely ignorant when it comes to this sort of thing, but I'm curious: Is that an intuitive mapbuilding solution, relatively speaking? It seems to require its own syntax and I hope it's not too finicky. It seems reasonable, but it may be a bit deterring for the person whose only experiments making maps was on his cousin's Tony Hawk game years ago? More specifically... me.

This was written assuming you have knowledge of Source and Hammer.

The Valve Developer Community has a lot of resources and tutorials to get you to where you'll be able to understand this, and you can expect a community to grow here as well.

Xenogenetic 07-25-2006 11:19 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Or you could be real awesome and not even open Hammer. Real mappers use notepad and compile the old school way.
Code:

versioninfo
{
        "editorversion" "400"
        "editorbuild" "2933"
        "mapversion" "79"
        "formatversion" "100"
        "prefab" "0"
}
visgroups
{
        visgroup
        {
                "name" "Auto"
                "visgroupid" "1"
                "color" "93 194 155"
                visgroup
                {
                        "name" "Entities"
                        "visgroupid" "3"
                        "color" "123 120 249"
                }
                visgroup
                {
                        "name" "Detail Brushes"
                        "visgroupid" "2"
                        "color" "243 224 97"
                }
        }
}


IcemanSimo 07-26-2006 02:52 AM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
i might give it a shot when its released and see what i can do if it does look like i can get anywhere well at least i tried.:)

ill go back to building websites.

levelord 07-26-2006 10:08 AM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sui
It's as if up until this moment the world has been covered in maple syrup, and just as you made this post, a beautiful woman descended from the heavens and licked it all off in one luscious swoop.

You're a true poet!

levelord 07-26-2006 10:13 AM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenogenetic
I was going to ask that question Commander, and to add to it, is there any manipulation of the dynamic difficulty (ie only spawn enemies with this exact gun) that mappers can use?

I believe you can, but it would subvert the Personal Challenge System.

I made a map (just playing around) with Mutants and even a Quad, but it turns into a simple Bot Match.

wisecode 07-26-2006 12:39 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by levelord
SUYT

Made the Urban Dict:
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=SUYT

PleaseMYOB 07-26-2006 04:10 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Since the maps are compiled into bsp's, are there any plans to include one of the stock maps or such with the SDK for reference?

I found them very useful learning to map for Q3...

Michael_Russell 07-26-2006 04:20 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
We're going to be including three map files.

ertertwert 07-26-2006 10:54 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Hey Michael. I just followed your steps to make an arena map and everything works aside from the fact that the grunt doesn't respawn. He spawns the first time and then never disappears and no more respawn. And yes I have "fade corpse" checked.

wisecode 07-26-2006 11:21 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
1) Open arena_office.vmf in Hammer.
2) Click on Map, Entity Report.
3) Scroll down to npc_template_maker.
a. Double-click to goto the location.
b. Click on the Properties button to open the entity dialog.
4) Look at the Flags and Properties.
...Should make sense after that.

ertertwert 07-26-2006 11:23 PM

Re: Making An Arena Mode Map
 
Yeah, I was just about to come back and post about it. You gotta enable "infinite spawn" under the template.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.