Ritualistic Forums

Ritualistic Forums (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/index.php)
-   SiN Episodes Editing (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Help With Lights (http://www.ritualistic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18464)

Xenogenetic 08-21-2006 03:57 PM

Help With Lights

My light_enviroment doesn't seem to be working properly. I looked at what happened during the compile and I found this:

Could not find lights.rad in lights.rad.
Trying VRAD BIN directory instead...
Warning: Couldn't open texlight file c:\program files\steam\steamapps\NOTMYEMAILADDRESS\sinepisode ssdk\bin\lights.rad.

I am not that good with compilers, does anyone know how I can fix this?

Sarkie 08-21-2006 04:00 PM

Re: Help With Lights

not give everyone your email :) edit it. or remove.

Xenogenetic 08-21-2006 04:01 PM

That email died 2 years ago when we switched providers but I will change it anyway.

CommanderZx2 08-21-2006 04:53 PM

I don't think you need the lights.rad for light_enviroment to work, because sin episodes doesn't have one.

The only use I've ever found for lights.rad is for textured lighting, that's when you make a texture on a brush create light instead of using an entity.

If you really want a lights.rad file just create one or copy one from half-life 2, as far as I can tell it's just a text document with settings for textured lighting.

You should be able to find one in
root:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\emailaddress\half-life 2\hl2

Xenogenetic 08-21-2006 05:04 PM

If that is what lights.rad is for, then do you have any idea why my light_enviroment isn't working? I tried it by itself, then in a skybox, then in a skybox that is detachted from the map (like in the arena_office.vmf). None of those work.

Other light entities work, I am only having trouble with light_enviroment.

Shallow 08-21-2006 05:15 PM