Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Condition Zero & CS Xbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2003, 07:44 PM   #1
BrushBaron
Level Designer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,457
Default Editing for CS:CZ

Is anyone in the mod community interested in learning how to make SP missions for CS:CZ once the game is released?
BrushBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 08:01 PM   #2
kevin442
Fanboy
 
kevin442's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 813
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

right here [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
kevin442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 08:04 PM   #3
Wolf8218
Veteran
 
Wolf8218's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 480
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

shut up kevin
i sure am glad that there is SP
im sure that people will start making VERY detailed SP maps, so they dont have to stick with 500MHz-Able maps :P
Wolf8218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 09:06 PM   #4
kevin442
Fanboy
 
kevin442's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 813
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

and there goes wolf again arguing about a post i made. u might as well lock this post cuz hes just gonan keep making smart @$$ remarks as usual.
kevin442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 10:33 PM   #5
Wolf8218
Veteran
 
Wolf8218's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 480
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

if you werent arguing then why the Fu Ck did you post?
dont post anymore you little 10 year old.
DNR=Do Not Reply
Wolf8218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 10:34 PM   #6
kevin442
Fanboy
 
kevin442's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 813
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

u do not make sense what so ever
kevin442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 11:44 PM   #7
xile
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 91
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Ive been thinking about learnings stuff to become in the mod screne. Will we have to know alot about the mod scene to do these cause if not i deffinately want to learn.
xile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 10:14 PM   #8
Ice_Commando
Experienced
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 118
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Bush Baron: Right here, I'm definitly interested.
Ice_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 01:54 AM   #9
enfestid
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 428
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Quote:
Is anyone in the mod community interested in learning how to make SP missions for CS:CZ once the game is released?
Does that mean the game's about to be released, or am I being hopeful? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] lol
enfestid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 08:12 AM   #10
GunSm0k3
Experienced
 
GunSm0k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bug abusing
Posts: 118
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Well I've been mapping for CS a while, but the biggest problem is that everything allready has been done.

i'm working at a bumpercars map right now.

But A CZ map will be much more a challenge, something that has not been done a million times.

Yeah I'm up for it gimme the tuts, fgd etc
GunSm0k3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 05:43 PM   #11
kanaeda
Veteran
 
kanaeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 382
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

here's something to consider...

anybody know how to create an fgd?
it's been mentioned several times in various places that ritual is using their in-house version of radiant to build CZ levels. radiant uses the standard quake .def file format for entity information in the editor. it might be worthwhile for somebody with a good grasp on the fgd format to perhaps offer their help in cranking out a working fgd for Condition Zero.
kanaeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 06:14 PM   #12
GunSm0k3
Experienced
 
GunSm0k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bug abusing
Posts: 118
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

open it with textpad or some text-editor.

You'll get it.
GunSm0k3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 07:03 PM   #13
Kalabalana
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 458
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

lol textpad, the programmers universal ide. I've used it for my mirc scripting, java, and c.
Kalabalana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 07:55 PM   #14
BrushBaron
Level Designer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

That's a cool idea, so that people who work with worldcraft can also make maps. Hmmm...
BrushBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 09:52 AM   #15
Venmoch
Regular
 
Venmoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain, the land of rain!
Posts: 51
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Yes, Yes I am.

I just need to evolve from the hollow cube bit thats been stumping me.
Venmoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 04:19 PM   #16
Kalabalana
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 458
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

I'm guessing they are going to be releasing a sdk shortly. They might release this to the community soon in an imitation of big brother half-life 2, and/or to show that the game will be out shortly.
Kalabalana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 04:27 PM   #17
BrushBaron
Level Designer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Honestly, I don't know when the SDK will be released, before the game or after the game is on the store shelves. but what I can do now is start organizing content for a website. I think the first thing I'll cover is the scripting language, which is stupid simple to learn but very powerful.
BrushBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 05:41 PM   #18
GunSm0k3
Experienced
 
GunSm0k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bug abusing
Posts: 118
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

on what is the scripting language based, I mean, pascal, c, basic?? Or something else.

So it ain't that simple like making HL sp levels?
GunSm0k3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 08:04 PM   #19
BrushBaron
Level Designer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

CZ has its own language, I'm not sure what it can be compaired to. Basically, in the editor you may have a trigger_once that targets a trigger_script entity. In the trigger_script entity it will point to two different things. A script file and the specific thread (block of code) within that script file. Inside that thread you can trigger other entities and play sounds, etc. Here's a very quick small example.

%cinematic
{
#pause = 2.5
#triggertarget = "walk_here_bitch" //triggers a scripted_sequence that makes a scientist walk to it.
#pause = 5.0
#killtarget = "doogie_howser" //kills the scientist
}

What's really cool about these scripts is that you can make changes to them that drastically affect your level game-play but you don't need to recompile your map, just reload the level and it will read in your script file along with its changes.
BrushBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 08:21 PM   #20
GunSm0k3
Experienced
 
GunSm0k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bug abusing
Posts: 118
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

so possibly there could be away to make several scripts, name them like script1, script2, script3 and like textures it will pick one of them, is such a thing implemented?

Would make lot's of variation, like once the scientist goes to the terror and gets killed, or he stays, and gets killed there or he runs away and gets shot in the back.

I sure hope they thought something like this.

Or is there an OR statement, otherwise an Ifelse or case, with rand or something?
GunSm0k3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:19 AM   #21
Neox
Casual
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 30
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

brush baron, i sure am interested.
Neox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.