Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Condition Zero & CS Xbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2004, 12:43 PM   #1
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Using a home computer as a server

I am thinking about using my home computer as a CS/CZ server. Would i need to buy anything from VALVe besides the games to run it on steam? I also want to be able to play, can i do that through my comp/server or will i need another computer?
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 02:20 PM   #2
Automator
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 401
Default Re: Using a home computer as a server

All you need is to download the dedicated server files, have the server port open, and have a massive internet connection. You might be able to run a decent server with a high speed cable connection, but if you have adsl you probably wont get anyone joining under 100 ping. Also it would be alot easier to run it on a seperate computer, but it doesn't really matter, you can run the dedicated server and join it on the same computer.
Automator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 02:41 PM   #3
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Using a home computer as a server

is it free and is admin mod free

if so i will be the happiest person in the gaming community
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 02:48 PM   #4
Automator
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 401
Default Re: Using a home computer as a server

yes to both, but just realize you running a server from your home pc isnt gonna be like admining a 16 person server with good ping.

Chances are only people you invite are gonna be on your server and your 0-15 ping will pwn them.
Automator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 03:14 PM   #5
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Using a home computer as a server

lol ok thnx for the help
i hope the lag isnt that bad....
but where can i find a site that lets me download admin mod, not the update
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 12:11 AM   #6
HmmBrd
Regular
 
HmmBrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Brunswick, CANADA
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to HmmBrd
Default Re: Using a home computer as a server

xenogenetic_Dwelf just go to google.com and search for adminmod. Also a reply to creating your server, I had one on a seperate PC the lag wasn't that bad but we were limited on the amount of players. By the way I would use AMX Mod instead of adminmod I find it lots better.
HmmBrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.