Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN Episodes > SiN Episodes Editing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2006, 05:18 AM   #1
ebola9717
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default Changing the main menu character?

Has anyone figured out how to manually change which character is displayed at the main menu? It sometimes seems random, and sometimes it's always the same character. I thought maybe it was in the config file, but I had no luck finding it.
ebola9717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 08:22 AM   #2
WhoZeDuke
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

Blade seems to appear alot less than everyone else. I dont know how to choose.
WhoZeDuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 08:27 AM   #3
KalZakath
Experienced
 
KalZakath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 126
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

When I first installed I had Jessica most of the time - after I progressed through the game I saw only blade. Now, after the patch, I have an error on startup in the console and a screwed-up menu with *no* character, and huge text [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Need to report that but @ work atm... got screenies of it last night after patching. I'm guessing I could be the only one, since I see no other mentions of odd menu behaviour... meh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
KalZakath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 12:29 PM   #4
anton_es
Casual
 
anton_es's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 30
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

Quote:
Originally posted by KalZakath:
When I first installed I had Jessica most of the time - after I progressed through the game I saw only blade. Now, after the patch, I have an error on startup in the console and a screwed-up menu with *no* character, and huge text [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Need to report that but @ work atm... got screenies of it last night after patching. I'm guessing I could be the only one, since I see no other mentions of odd menu behaviour... meh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
He, i have this problem, tooo.
BIG, BIG menue letters and NEVER EVER ANY background characters
displayed. dont know if the patch did alter this, i think it was like this
always for me.

did you post that problem on steam ? what was the response ?

thanks, toni
anton_es is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 11:59 AM   #5
he_the_great
Regular
 
he_the_great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

I think as you progress through the game it chooses the character that is displayed. Then when you beat it, it would just randomly choose. I haven't been able to beat it yet to test that theory though.
he_the_great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 07:15 PM   #6
Embryodead
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

This was bothering me also so I went looking into the config and checked the console upon loading of the menu/game.

This is what I have seen for various characters:

Spawn server background* and * being 01-04 when you check the console, this command does not work though and it is very frustrating.

03 is jessica and I just want jessica on the damn menu screen, I am so sick of looking at Radek and JC, seen Elexis once and Jessica first time I loaded the game. I hope someone figures out how to "spawn server background".
Embryodead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 08:45 PM   #7
wisecode
Experienced
 
wisecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tennessee U.S.A.
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to wisecode
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

These are done with Source engine background maps.

To see Jessica open the console and enter this:
map background01

Options are background01-06

You can also create this as a launch option for the game with a parameter line from the Steam Game Launcher.

The NPC actions are done with VCDs, essentially text files that contain Face Poser script commands.
(Part of the Source SDK)
wisecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 10:07 PM   #8
Lord_Rick
Experienced
 
Lord_Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 117
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

ive seen blade just the once, i was starting to worry that ritual may not have actually given the poor bloke his own model :P
Lord_Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 12:27 PM   #9
programmer2
Casual
 
programmer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 30
Default Re: Changing the main menu character?

wisecode almost got it right, the correct command would be "map_background", which loads the map while still showing the menu items on top of it.

This means that you can right click SiN:Emergence in your Steam games list, choose properties, click "Set launch options" and write "+map_background background01" (without the quotes) if you only want Jessica on your menu.

There are actually backgrounds for 01-06, but it seems that both 05 and 06 show Elexis (altough I can almost swear that it showed me Jessica the first time I loaded 05... weird).

If you really want some control, you could make yourself several shortcuts to start Emergence, each with a different character on the menu. Just ask Steam to create a desktop shortcut for you, and then edit the target line by appending the "+map_background background01", then make another pointing to background02 and so on.
programmer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.