Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN Episodes > SiN Episodes Tech Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2006, 06:09 PM   #1
jman1871
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Lock up on Green Ooze?

I am in the U4 labs and I dropped into a sewer area and right as I am going to enter a toxic looking green area with a pipe spewing green ooze the game locks up and the sound just loops till I crash out to the desktop. No problems at all with the game up to this point. Sometimes it crashes with a weird error message about memory at xxxx and xxxxx .

Please help.
jman1871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 06:15 PM   #2
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

Can you please go to your C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\[steam user name]\sin episodes emergence folder and zip up any file that looks like "Steam__[long string of gobbledygook].mdmp" and send them to crashes[at]ritual[dot]com? Also include your DXDIAG information.
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 06:20 PM   #3
jman1871
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

Thanks

I have sent them to that address.
jman1871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 06:34 PM   #4
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

I just got your DXDIAG info. It looks like you're running very very very old nVIDIA drivers. If you can please upgrade to the 84.21 drivers from nVIDIA's site, you should be able to progress without any problems past the mutagenic cloud.

However, you may run into an issue when you get to the end of the level you are in that we are testing a fix for. Just warning you ahead of time.
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 12:05 AM   #5
jman1871
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

I am still getting the lock up in the ooze after updating the drivers.
jman1871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 12:11 AM   #6
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

I'll dig a bit deeper. It's odd, though...I was able to reproduce with the older drivers, but not the new ones. I'll get back to you as soon as possible.
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 12:21 AM   #7
SenorPhatnutZ
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

Do you ever get other applications that thorw errors or exceptions and reference physical memory addresses?
if you are you may want to try and use a memory tester to verify that you don't have bad RAM. You can get applications that run off bootbale discs and verify your RAM integrity at these two sites:

ms mem tester
memtest86

You're memory is probably fine, but it will give you something to do between now and whatever official response you get.

Good luck!
SenorPhatnutZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 12:56 AM   #8
jman1871
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

All of my other programs run fine. This is
the first time I have ever gotten an error like this.
jman1871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 10:32 AM   #9
OmnipotentQ
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

I too have this problem.

I'll email you my DXDIAG and mdmp files as well at the address provided under the Title of "Lock Up on Green Ooze: Episode 2". You might then be able to find the common denominator for the problem. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]
OmnipotentQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 04:24 PM   #10
irish_dan
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

i have the same problem 2 shame i was realy getting in 2 the game, i also sent the info on wards fast answere be great [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
irish_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 04:29 PM   #11
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

We've got a rough idea about what might be causing this. We're going to be working on a fix for this over the weekend.
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 04:37 PM   #12
irish_dan
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

wow fast reply thanks. kinda sucks cant play untill after weekend but very glad u are looking in 2 this and sorting it out. nice to see some great cosutmer care [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]....
irish_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 05:28 PM   #13
KalZakath
Experienced
 
KalZakath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 126
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

@Michael - I'm not sure if you still need info on this, but I'm getting crashes too. I don't think there was mutagen at the point where I crashed tonight, but could be wrong. I've sent my DxDiag and crash dump in a zip to the address you gave.

I was coming up to Supremacy Tower - I'd just walked outside and killed a soldier.

Hope the files are helpful [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
KalZakath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 11:12 PM   #14
royal3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

I am experiencing the exact same issue. Dowloaded drivers and still does not work. Please assist.
royal3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 06:49 PM   #15
Parnic
Programmer, Gearbox Software
 
Parnic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 231
Default Re: Lock up on Green Ooze?

We have been able to reproduce this issue for certain video cards and are working on a fix now. We hope to have the fix included with Wednesday's patch.
Parnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.