Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN Episodes > SiN Episodes Tech Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2006, 06:54 AM   #1
Superfly
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 63
Default unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

This was an issue with HL2 when it released and was fixed by a steam update - Im guessing SiN episode one has the same problem??

can anyone confirm a fix is on its way for this? - thanks.

Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 01:58 PM   #2
ATimson
Experienced
 
ATimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 127
Default Re: unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

Well, Wednesday's patch will bring SE1 into parity with the latest drop from the Source Engine code. So my guess would be "yes". [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
ATimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 03:13 PM   #3
Superfly
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

dont wanna burst your bubble but wednesdays patch wont includethe latest source engine code, Ritual have said there is no ETA for that update yet.
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 04:12 PM   #4
Sarkie
Community Moderator
 
Sarkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 360
Default Re: unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

Quote:
Originally posted by ATimson:
Well, Wednesday's patch will bring SE1 into parity with the latest drop from the Source Engine code. So my guess would be "yes". [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Do you know this for fact regarding the new source engine code?

and isnt Heap size in Source engine different compared to Hl2, quoting an HL2 Programmer ("Only when loading massive BSP's") now are the Sin ones, massive?

Sarkie
Sarkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 07:28 PM   #5
Superfly
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

guess we would need a developer to answer that question, obviously if the heapsize will make no difference in SiN then this thread can head south pronto........


Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 07:29 PM   #6
Parnic
Programmer, Gearbox Software
 
Parnic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 231
Default Re: unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

We are investigating the issue and hope to have a fix sometime in the future.
Parnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 07:32 PM   #7
ATimson
Experienced
 
ATimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 127
Default Re: unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

Quote:
Originally posted by Superfly:
dont wanna burst your bubble but wednesdays patch wont includethe latest source engine code, Ritual have said there is no ETA for that update yet.
Really? I thought it was going to be included. My apologies for the misinformation, in that case.
ATimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 07:33 PM   #8
ATimson
Experienced
 
ATimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 127
Default Re: unable to allocate a heapsize over 500mb?

Quote:
Originally posted by Superfly:
guess we would need a developer to answer that question, obviously if the heapsize will make no difference in SiN then this thread can head south pronto........
Not necessarily. Sin's heapsize detection seems to be flawed--it only allocated a 64 MB heap for me, where HL2 uses a 256 MB heap--so setting it manually is still a necessity for some.
ATimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.