Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 04:15 PM   #1
Kaionai
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default Can't get SiN (Steam) to run on windows 7

I can't seem to get SIN (Steam) to run on Windows 7 pro, I have tried compatibility modes checked all box's than one by one process of elimination. I have it set to windows XP SP3.

Don't tell me the basics of updating drivers and etc..for a old a## game too. I just want to damn thing to work!.
Kaionai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:27 AM   #2
Chriss
Veteran
 
Chriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to Chriss Send a message via Yahoo to Chriss Send a message via Skype™ to Chriss
Default Re: Can't get SiN (Steam) to run on windows 7

Without any error Message or more informations what happens when you start the game... It is impossible to help you out anyhow. If you have graphic issues you might find that Information bellow useful.

If you are using a ATI HD card, you can't do anything but complain to ATI, ATI has still not provided a solution for such games.

If you have a Nvidia Card update to the latest Drivers, there is a option to bypass issues with older games.
Chriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 06:46 PM   #3
DuSTman
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can't get SiN (Steam) to run on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriss View Post
If you are using a ATI HD card, you can't do anything but complain to ATI, ATI has still not provided a solution for such games.

If you have a Nvidia Card update to the latest Drivers, there is a option to bypass issues with older games.
There are (unofficial) fixes for ati cards. You can either
1: Get catalyst 10.4, and put the atioglxx.dll from that version into SiN's directory (described at http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...php?t=1725816). This only works on cards that 10.4 supports, though (not the hd 6xxx series)
2: The method of decompressing the files from the gcf file and renaming the executable to quake3.exe - (I discovered a few months ago that the drivers hand quake3 a shortened version of the extensions string that doesn't overflow the allocated buffer)
Mezo (http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1732704) created a nice shortcut for using this method.

To my suprise, the second method's also been noted to work with nvidia gpus.
DuSTman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:48 PM   #4
Chriss
Veteran
 
Chriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to Chriss Send a message via Yahoo to Chriss Send a message via Skype™ to Chriss
Default Re: Can't get SiN (Steam) to run on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by DuSTman View Post
To my suprise, the second method's also been noted to work with nvidia gpus.
I'm not so much surprised, it is a OpenGL 4.0 issue, it seams that ATI has just been to lazy to provide any solution, as NVIDIA did.
Chriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:18 AM   #5
RaVeR
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Country: Finland / City : Turku
Posts: 90
Default Re: Can't get SiN (Steam) to run on windows 7

I have windows 7 ultimate 64bit and i had no broblems with installin steam. But somereason steam doesent seem to show/refresh any servers. Maybe its just some small issue on their side cuz i just installed it about an hour ago. There should be 1 sin1 server on steams server list, at least about month ago there was a ctf server. If someone knows the ip address for that server or anyone has a server on give me the ip address plz. I wanna play some SIN for loooooooong time And bots are boring. Sin cost me a 1 at the mallso i had to buy it for remenessing

--------------------
WaSSuP?
RaVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 08:25 PM   #6
tschumann
Newbie
 
tschumann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't get SiN (Steam) to run on windows 7

You don't have any filters set on the server browser do you? There just may not be any servers though.
tschumann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Redemption Bot and Wages to work with Sin Steam shadeex SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin 41 10-16-2016 04:58 AM
List of SiN Steam edits Omega1 SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin 8 12-25-2006 10:32 PM
SIN (steam) needs a desktop icon! Maniac SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin 3 04-23-2006 06:04 PM
A new gaming horizon... Blueshade SiN Episodes 49 01-24-2006 01:17 PM
Where to find SiN and how is it on Windows XP? MysterD SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin 20 07-20-2005 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.