Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2000, 06:28 PM   #1
JezzyBall
Community Moderator
 
JezzyBall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Madtown, Wisconsin
Posts: 955
Send a message via MSN to JezzyBall
Default Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

It appears that I haved a shared IRQ problem.

The Message:
Adapter IRQ [05] shared with: [NETGEAR FA310TX Fast Ethernet PCI Adapter]

The Adapter is my GeForce2 GTS which seems to run fine (except OpenGL in Half-Life).

Question: How can I change it so it's not shared?

Thanks in advance...

------------------
-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
JeZZyBALL
I'll kick your sisters ass, MAN!
-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
JezzyBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 06:51 PM   #2
sparK
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,648
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

try moving the network card to different slots, that should change the irq it uses.
sparK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 07:22 PM   #3
Zer0
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,712
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

should be under Control Panel/System/Device Manager/

did ya get it to work?
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 07:34 PM   #4
JezzyBall
Community Moderator
 
JezzyBall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Madtown, Wisconsin
Posts: 955
Send a message via MSN to JezzyBall
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Spark

I believe I can change the IRQ without removing the net card. The GeForce is in the AGP slot and the Netcard PCI.

Zero.

Yes I know. But I cant change the IRQ (I believe and I want to know for sure) from there. So no I haven't got them realigned yet.

Forum.

Help


JezzyBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 07:45 PM   #5
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Check for new drivers for your netcard and see if there are any tools on the manufacturers' site to manually assign IRQ's.

I.. think.. you can reassign the IRQ's in BIOS.. uhm. I'll check and see if I can find the option.
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 07:49 PM   #6
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Yep, depending on your BIOS, you should be able to find a PNP or PCI menu choice. Have fun
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 08:13 PM   #7
JezzyBall
Community Moderator
 
JezzyBall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Madtown, Wisconsin
Posts: 955
Send a message via MSN to JezzyBall
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Rome. Thanks. Forgive Me For My Inept Questions....

How do I know what the "available" IRQ qould be to change it to?

Opening My BIOS or is there a proggy for it. (ie REGEDIT ...BIOSEDIT??)

I'm nervouse enough that I'd love a walkthrough....
JezzyBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 08:30 PM   #8
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Well, first of all:

Right click the My Computer icon and go to properties. Select the Device Manager tab and then double click on the computer icon all the way on top.
A window will pop up showing you what devices use what IRQ, compare that list to http://www.helmig.com/j_helmig/interupt.htm (check the bottom of the page) and see if you got any free ones. Write em down

Next, go into your BIOS and screw around, can't really guide ya in there since they're all different (plus I've never actually done this myself either).

Don't worry though, in the worst possible case (ie, your pc refuses to boot up), all you will have to do is open up your case and remove the little battery (looks like a quarter) that supplies power to the CMOS, and put it right back in. That will reset everything to default.

BTW, is this a self built computer or something from COMPAQ/Gateway/etc..?

Cause if you didn't configure the BIOS yourself when you put the pc together, you might have trouble getting it back to normal if you screw stuff up (Sorry if any of this seems dumbed down, for all I know, you've had more expirience with this shit that I have).

Make sure to check the netcards site first, I had a utility for my old card that let me change IRQ's (but that was an ISA card..).
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 08:47 PM   #9
JezzyBall
Community Moderator
 
JezzyBall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Madtown, Wisconsin
Posts: 955
Send a message via MSN to JezzyBall
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Thanks Rome. I will let you know.

It is a CB comp. And I have put many items in. Sooo. We'll see.

JezzyBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 09:41 PM   #10
Strabo
Fanatic
 
Strabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Smack Dab In Da Middle Of Canada
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Much easier to just do some card swappin Jezzy!
Strabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 10:25 PM   #11
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

When I did that on a laptop, (switched the pc card NIC to a different slot) it made no difference, same IRQ was still assigned.
This is different with PCI ports?
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 11:04 PM   #12
Icculus [LoK]
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,477
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

go get a 3com xlt .. problem solved
Icculus [LoK] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 11:09 PM   #13
Icculus [LoK]
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,477
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

oh incase your too cheap ...

uninstall something , like your sound card or some shit , then reserve that irq and re-install it , it should boot it to another irq then un-reserve it and install the card

if that doesnt work , or you can try this first .. whatever .. go into the DM and them properties of the card and change the IRQ , its the same as going into the bios ( if your card drivers allow it)
Icculus [LoK] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2000, 11:57 PM   #14
kAmALA
Levelord Groupie
 
kAmALA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

try looking at programs/accessories/systemstool

and then run system information.

you might find some info under hardware conflicts/sharing and irqs
kAmALA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2000, 07:35 AM   #15
Zer0
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,712
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Oooh man you guys are trying to confuse him right? If you can't change the IRQ from the control panel there's a good chance there are jumpers on the card that will allow you change it. My card for example(not installed right now), can be set via jumpers to PNP(auto assign IRQ) or not PNP(you get to do it with your grubby hands).
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2000, 07:42 AM   #16
JezzyBall
Community Moderator
 
JezzyBall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Madtown, Wisconsin
Posts: 955
Send a message via MSN to JezzyBall
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

ICC. I have to remove a Piece of shit 3COM already. This card for DSL is top rated and not expensive either. 3COM sucks IMO.

Gang. I have tried the remove and install. I get the same IRQ conflict. (PS I must say I havent noticed any problems, I just want to get it fine tuned....and therefore want to change)
JezzyBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2000, 07:57 AM   #17
JezzyBall
Community Moderator
 
JezzyBall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Madtown, Wisconsin
Posts: 955
Send a message via MSN to JezzyBall
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

OK. Get This. Depressing I think....

IRQ List.
00 - System Timer
01 - Standard 101/102 MSN Natural Keyboard
02 - Programmable Interrupt Controller
03 - COM Port 2
04 - COM Port 5
04 - COM Port 1
05 - Monster Sound MX400 SDM
05 - NETGEAR FA310TX Fast Ethernet Adapter
05 - Creative GB0010 (GeForce2GTS)
05 - ACPI IRQ Holder For PCI IRQ Steering
05 - ACPI IRQ Holder For PCI IRQ Steering
06 - Standard Floppy Controller
07 - EPSON 1200 Printer Port (LPT1)
08 - System CMOS/Real Time Clock
09 - VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB UHC
09 - ACPI IRQ for PCI IRQ Steering
10 - LT Win Modem
10 - ACPI IRQ for PCI IRQ Steering
12 - PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
13 - Numeric Data Processor
14 - VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
14 - Primary IDE Controller (dual fifo)
15 - VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
15 - Secondary IDE Controller (dual fifo)

Viewed By Choosing Control Panel, System, Device MGR, Right Click On Computer, View Resources, Interrupt request (IRQ)

Yikes, I think...


JezzyBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2000, 09:57 AM   #18
Ryno
Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Dallas,Tx,USA
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

What motherboard are we dealing with?
Do you have the VIA 4in1 patch loaded?

1) disable unused COM ports. if none are used, then this will free up irq 3 and 4.
2) irq 11 is not listed so make sure its not RESERVED.
3) look in your bios under PNP/PCI Configuration and see if you have an option similar to: Slot or PIRQ 0-4 used by N, where N = 0~15. If you have this option, then you can assign the slot # an IRQ.
4) if not, look for PNP OS and make sure it is set to YES or enabled (this should be kept on NO for NT).
5) if there are no bios settings that will help you, then you will need to move the card to another PCI slot.
Ryno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2000, 03:37 PM   #19
Zer0
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,712
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Looking at that info I see a very simple solution. Set your video card to IRQ 11! I have a video card on IRQ 11, it's a NVIDIA TNT so I think that your NVIDIA GeForce can do it too.
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2000, 04:50 PM   #20
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: Tech. Help: Changing A Shared IRQ.

Duhhh yer smart. Except that he can't charge the IRQ for that
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.