Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2000, 06:09 PM   #1
Scarcrux
News Editor, Ritualistic
 
Scarcrux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Hawai'i
Posts: 488
Send a message via ICQ to Scarcrux Send a message via AIM to Scarcrux Send a message via MSN to Scarcrux Send a message via Yahoo to Scarcrux Send a message via Skype™ to Scarcrux
Default Damaged HD Clusters

I tried to repair some HD clusters marked as bad in ScanDisk, but without success. Anyone know of a good HD repair program?
Scarcrux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2000, 07:17 PM   #2
sparK
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,648
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

yep, it's called "new_hard_drive.exe"

seriously, there is no way to repair those, just maybe take them out of the loop. but bad sectors usually get worse, so make sure any important data (like nude pics of Britney Spears ) is backed up. what kind of drive is it, and how old?

a lot of drives have 3-year warranties and the major companies are pretty good about replacing them in that time.

[This message has been edited by sparK (edited 02-10-2000).]
sparK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2000, 07:56 PM   #3
BlacKNIFE
Casual
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Somewhere, in a galaxy far, far away...
Posts: 46
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

Would this happen to be a Western Digital hard drive? I've had a history of similar problems with those.

I recommend Maxtor.
BlacKNIFE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2000, 09:14 PM   #4
Voodooo
Casual
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Terrebonne,QC,CA
Posts: 38
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

The only way i see for your probs its a format but its not realy shure this will repair your bad cluster.


------------------
Voodooo(M.O.D)
Learn the Methode Of Destruction !!
Voodooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2000, 09:16 PM   #5
Voodooo
Casual
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Terrebonne,QC,CA
Posts: 38
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

If you realy want a good HD buy an IBM this is the best HD but its a little bit more expansive

------------------
Voodooo(M.O.D)
Learn the Methode Of Destruction !!
Voodooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2000, 10:38 PM   #6
Lanik
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Austin, Tx USA
Posts: 2,903
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

Bad sectors are usually irreperable. You could always try a fdisk/reformat though....
Lanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2000, 11:56 AM   #7
Kubb
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 68
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

Put it in the fridge
q=]
Kubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2000, 12:17 PM   #8
Milhouse PEZ
Fanboy
 
Milhouse PEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: San Francisco, CA USA
Posts: 654
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

For what it's worth, I've had great luck using Western Digital's low-level formatting utility to fix "bad" drives.



------------------
Milhouse[PEZ]
http://www.enjoy-pez.com
ICQ# 28427350



Milhouse PEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2000, 05:44 PM   #9
Scarcrux
News Editor, Ritualistic
 
Scarcrux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Hawai'i
Posts: 488
Send a message via ICQ to Scarcrux Send a message via AIM to Scarcrux Send a message via MSN to Scarcrux Send a message via Yahoo to Scarcrux Send a message via Skype™ to Scarcrux
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

It worked! But wholly shit! My computer is 20 times faster now, and the net is a hell of a lot smoother... I'm considering never backing up all those files!
Scarcrux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 01:26 AM   #10
Scarcrux
News Editor, Ritualistic
 
Scarcrux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Hawai'i
Posts: 488
Send a message via ICQ to Scarcrux Send a message via AIM to Scarcrux Send a message via MSN to Scarcrux Send a message via Yahoo to Scarcrux Send a message via Skype™ to Scarcrux
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

Yeah, I have a 12gb Western Digital drive. I'm not gonna have fun backing up with a 4X CD Burner, but if formatting can fix the problem. It's worth a try... I guess.
Scarcrux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 01:52 AM   #11
sparK
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,648
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

if the format doesn't do it, i've heard that western digital and maxtor have the best warranty service, with overnight replacement available.

http://www.westerndigital.com/service/
sparK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 11:48 AM   #12
NightHawk
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: in the ether
Posts: 993
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

That's windows for ya. A fresh install of it is SO fast in the gui and ie. It starts to slow down progressively after that
NightHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 02:36 PM   #13
kAmALA
Levelord Groupie
 
kAmALA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

fright: do you need a new hard drive ?
i might be able to help. do you have
wos installed ?

kAmALA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 05:05 PM   #14
TheDarthJedi
Levelord Groupie
 
TheDarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Austin, TX.... USA
Posts: 3,253
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

i had a Maxtor.. it died on me.. bad clusters.. i was barley able to salvage my stuff from it... I now have a 8.4 western digital to go along with the 13 gig WD i already had..... the new WD works GREAT! no problems.. (yet..) but I probally SHOULD do a wipe/reformat one of these days as I havent for about 2 1/2 years... but the lack of anything major to back up ALL MY @#$% kinda hurts... with one 8.4 gig drive and one 13 gig drive you can imagine how much stuff i can jam on these things....

personally i say GO WESTERN DIGITAL all the way, as I have had bad experiences with Samsung, Maxotr, and seagate.. but never Western Digital....

but thats just me........


glad to hear its all OK and working Fright.. but keep an eye on that drive k? it may LOOK like its OK for now.. but.......
back up your IMPORTANT files and beware.. it may be FINE, or you may of just managed to delay anything serious (like a total crash!) for a while.......

------------------
ICQ: 45514783
e-mail: JediMaster@austin.rr.com
-------
Ta-heck with signatures!
(Insert Star Wars quote HERE)
-DarthJedi
-TheDarthJedi
-TheDarthJediPOD
-TheDarthJedi[SiN]
TheDarthJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 06:01 PM   #15
Scarcrux
News Editor, Ritualistic
 
Scarcrux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Hawai'i
Posts: 488
Send a message via ICQ to Scarcrux Send a message via AIM to Scarcrux Send a message via MSN to Scarcrux Send a message via Yahoo to Scarcrux Send a message via Skype™ to Scarcrux
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

Not anymore kamala, formatting fixed everything. Thanks for the offer though.
Scarcrux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 06:02 PM   #16
NightHawk
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: in the ether
Posts: 993
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

If you do get a new drive, get an IBM. There's nothing better on the market. WD uses IBM's design, but the quality just isn't the same from what I hear. IBMs just don't quit working.
NightHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 09:43 PM   #17
12Gauge TNT
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 807
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

NH is right. western digital sucks ass. every hard drive I replaced at my old job was either WD or maxtor. only get IBM, or seagate for ATA66 or SCSI. IBM IDE drives are about as good as it gets quality wise.

-12 in tennessee
12Gauge TNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2000, 09:55 PM   #18
NightHawk
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: in the ether
Posts: 993
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

I must say that Quantum drives have served me well, however they're very friggen loud (7200rpms). Quantum is often considered the best SCSI solution though, so the reliability may carry over to the IDEs. Mine have run fine for years, although that is hardly enough satistics to base anything on. Due to small cost differences, go for IBM.
NightHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2000, 03:10 AM   #19
ninken
Fanboy
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Illinois
Posts: 739
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

A good way to stablize HD For Now!
1)Back up what Data you have!
2)Run FDISK Remove Partitions
3)Run Boot disk With FDISK readd Partitons
4)Run Format c: /s /c
5)Re-install

This will give the harddrive a good Fix, but buy a new HD soon!

ninken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2000, 05:54 AM   #20
sparK
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,648
Default Re: Damaged HD Clusters

12 in tennessee?? home of country music, elvis presley, and coal miner's daughters- 3 strikes yer outta there. do u need bus fare bud?
sparK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.