Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Star Trek Elite Force II > EF2 Tech Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2004, 09:56 PM   #1
Renegade95b
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default Background Texture problem...

I've been searching the internet for a solution, but haven't found one yet.

When I play the game, there is no background textures. Instead, there are just a bunch of grey boxes with white outlines.

Here's my setup:
1100 mhz amd athlon
384 mb ram
NVIDIA GeForce2 mx/mx 400 w/ the 56.64 version (most recent version)
DirectX 9.0b (upgraded from 9.0a after noticing the texture problem)
Windows XP home

I've tried an older driver version as well, but still, no effect. I was wondering whats causing this and if theres a way to fix it.
Renegade95b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 11:01 PM   #2
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: Background Texture problem...

Sounds like the game is unable to find those textures. Go to your \base\ directory and check the various pak files to see if their file size matches that specified in this document.

If one or more don't, either replace the affected pak files by overwriting them with the originals located on the game discs, or reinstall the game.
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 11:02 PM   #3
Renegade95b
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Background Texture problem...

I wrote over the old paks with the ones from the cd. When that didn't work, I reinstalled the game. I noticed that the pak files from the cd's aren't the same size as the ones posted on that link you gave me.

In that case, could it be the game itself that's damaged?
Renegade95b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 10:24 AM   #4
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: Background Texture problem...

This is strange, none of the file sizes match? How big of a difference is there?
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 05:40 PM   #5
Renegade95b
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Background Texture problem...

The correct sizes from your link:

locpak1.pk3 186,985,165 bytes
pak0.pk3 22,817,218 bytes
pak10.pk3 173,190,103 bytes
pak15.pk3 78,944,133 bytes
pak16.pk3 51,378,120 bytes
pak20.pk3 159,272,090 bytes
pak30.pk3 126,401,560 bytes
pak31.pk3 94,540,050 bytes
pak32.pk3 184,504,216 bytes


And, here are my pak sizes, straight from the cd:

pak0 - 22,283 KB
pak1 - 182,603 KB
pak10 - 169,131 KB
pak15 - 77,094 KB
pak16 - 50,174 KB
pak20 - 155,540 KB
pak30 - 123,440 KB
pak31 - 92,325 KB
pak32 - 180,180 KB
Renegade95b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 06:18 PM   #6
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: Background Texture problem...

Those are the correct sizes. Did you install the game in the default directory?
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 01:56 AM   #7
Renegade95b
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Background Texture problem...

Yes. I followed everything normally. I'll just get it exchanged tomorrow. If the same problem occurs, then I'll hit you up on AIM, and we'll get it ironed out.
Renegade95b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.