Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Star Trek Elite Force II > EF2 Tech Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2003, 01:51 AM   #1
McFly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5
Default 4th and 5th mouse buttons???

Hey peeps,

How the hell can I get the 4th and 5th mouse buttons to work in EF2?

I've got an Intellimouse Explorer 3 if this helps.

Cheers
McFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 02:33 AM   #2
MadOnion
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Creamy Center of Tomato Onion Soup
Posts: 1,503
Default Re: 4th and 5th mouse buttons???

If you haven't already done so, download and install Microsoft's IntelliPoint mouse control software. Here's instructions on how set specific button assignments for EF2:

1. Open the Windows Control Panel and select "Mouse."

2. Check "Enable program-specific button settings."

3. Click the settings button to the right.

4. Add a program and locate the EF2 executable.

5. Reprogram the large thumb, small thumb and wheel buttons to standard keyboard functions such as page down.

6. Launch EF2 and test.
MadOnion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 02:46 AM   #3
McFly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: 4th and 5th mouse buttons???

Thanks for the reply MadOnion

I've actually got the software installed for it.

Isnt there a better way of doing it? How come EF1 didnt have that problem?

But if this the only way of doing it, what should I assign the rest of the buttons? Or should I just leave them as they are?
McFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 03:00 AM   #4
MadOnion
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Creamy Center of Tomato Onion Soup
Posts: 1,503
Default Re: 4th and 5th mouse buttons???

The problem is that EF2 doesn't recognize custom mouse commands such as back and forward. Those happen to be the default commands set for thumb buttons on Microsoft mice.

The fix described above is a permanent solution to this problem, so you don't have to wait for a patch to rectify this issue.
MadOnion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 09:28 AM   #5
McFly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: 4th and 5th mouse buttons???

Woohoo it worked, thanks for the help MadOnion [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
McFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.