Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Star Trek Elite Force II

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2002, 04:59 AM   #1
moonmonkey
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 88
Default EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

I know ef1 maps will be able to be converted to ef2 maps but is there going to be any scripting support?
moonmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 06:09 AM   #2
Corridale
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,346
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

I would think that there would be, it may take sometime to covert the script
Corridale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 10:01 AM   #3
Absynthe
Experienced
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lost in Quiddity
Posts: 147
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

I doubt it. Raven has their own scripting and Ritual has theirs. If there are any similarities its coincidental.
Absynthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 11:55 AM   #4
Superrobster
Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,355
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

ICARUS will not work at all in EF2, so all maps will have to be totally re-scripted. Another reason why modifications should aim towards one game rather than two.
Superrobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 04:47 PM   #5
ravelin
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ritual Entertainment
Posts: 4
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

You will absolutely need to re-script the map. However, our scripting language allows you to do some crazy-cool things, so it all be worth it.
ravelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 04:50 PM   #6
LKP
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 208
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

What kind of crazy cool things???? Or do we have to wait???
LKP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 06:04 PM   #7
[LS]Leodavinci
Fanboy
 
[LS]Leodavinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 595
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

hope the few good mappers who are out there in the EFI scene wont waste their time on converting EFI maps.... cause we really need something new and I am sure making new maps for EFII would be lots more interesting

[ July 26, 2002: Message edited by: [LS]Leodavinci ]
[LS]Leodavinci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 08:11 PM   #8
kanaeda
Veteran
 
kanaeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 382
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LKP:
What kind of crazy cool things???? Or do we have to wait???<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you can think it up, chances are you can make it happen. I have yet to stumble on anything that can't be done with the current uber scripting system. it's quite flexible and super-duper-powerful... brush up on your C/C++ before-hand and you should be just fine.

on the topic of converting maps, well, you'll probably find that you need to rebuild the maps rather than just load them up, re-texture them, and re-compile them. A great many things have changed between EF and EF2. besides, you can dump roughly 2x the detail into our engine than you could in the original EF engine.
kanaeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2002, 01:50 AM   #9
moonmonkey
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 88
Default Re: EF1 scripting to EF2 scripting

DOH!

C++ the bugger.

My Nemesis. There's me thinking of scripting in ef2

[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
moonmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.