Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Condition Zero & CS Xbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2003, 07:02 PM   #26
GunSm0k3
Experienced
 
GunSm0k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bug abusing
Posts: 118
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

lol, Mapping itself is allready a challenge, WC maps on the other hand ....
GunSm0k3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 08:13 PM   #27
enfestid
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 428
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Quote:
yeah, i know
but you know like triggers and placing units, waypoints and stuff... you know
Pretty much all maping programs have some sort of feature like that, I wouldn't worry about that part of it.
enfestid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 12:18 AM   #28
kanaeda
Veteran
 
kanaeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 382
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

to somewhat expand on that...

a better description of the scripting system is to call it an external event control system. that is, it can't really generate too many things on it's own. what it can do is provide a simplified, flexible way to handle complex sequences in the game.

things it can do on it's own:

trigger valid entities
'killtarget' or destroy valid entities
display text on screen, along with corresponding audio files complete with a speaker, target, etc. to provide a sound source and mouth movement.

things it can not do:

trigger entities that don't already exist in the world
create entities on the fly
logic operations
loop structures (if/then/else, while, for... the standard programming stuff)

if you're familiar with the standard HL multi_manager entity (complex trigger_relay) then think of the pseudo-script as a more powerful replacement. It incorporates some of the functionality of the file sentences.txt, as well.

any kind of fancy logic type stuff is handled just like it would be in the current HL tools. it's the old quake-style system with lots of little colored boxes and spaghetti-esque lines going between them. it is somewhat limited but can do some really cool stuff, as you'll see in Condition Zero. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
kanaeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 05:27 PM   #29
BrushBaron
Level Designer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Thanks for wording it so well, I'll add this to the doc I'm writing up and give you credit.
BrushBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 11:51 PM   #30
kanaeda
Veteran
 
kanaeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 382
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

glad to help. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
kanaeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2003, 10:35 PM   #31
Torpedo
Experienced
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 133
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

If you decide to create a .fgd for Hammer, could you please update the armoury_entity to include all the weapons and equipment in CZ. The one in the CS .fgd is missing a lot of gear.
Torpedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2003, 06:27 PM   #32
kanaeda
Veteran
 
kanaeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 382
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Unfortunately, I don't think it's very easy to alter the settings for the armory. Off hand I would guess they are all hard-coded values that relate to specific weapons and adding more weapons/items is certainly not an easy task if this is the case.

With that said, we didn't use the armory function to equip the player throughout the single-player missions. You don't need it. The game_player_equip entity is much more versatile and allows you to give the player any weapon, item, and ammo load you want by adding the entity names for each item. This is standard HL functionality that I would recomend using for any single-player levels. I think the armory entity is a multi-plyer, counter-strike specific entity and as such would not be valid in the single-player game (think HL for sp, and CS for mp).
kanaeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 05:19 AM   #33
Neox
Casual
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 30
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

brush baron, i sure am interested.
Neox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 10:12 AM   #34
GunSm0k3
Experienced
 
GunSm0k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bug abusing
Posts: 118
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

if you'e planning to make fy_maps ... DON'T
GunSm0k3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 10:15 AM   #35
Crash757
Experienced
 
Crash757's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Latvia
Posts: 127
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Why ? They`re cool. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Crash757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 01:36 AM   #36
TylerBrown
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 22
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

I would be interested in mapping single player, as well as multiplayer maps for CZ. I've never hard the urge to before as I could never come to grips with the Half-Life editor, but now that CZ is using a modified version of Radiant... I'll give it a try!
TylerBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 05:03 AM   #37
Neox
Casual
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 30
Default Re: Editing for CS:CZ

Quote:
if you'e planning to make fy_maps ... DON'T
no i am not planning on making fy_ maps
Neox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.