Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Condition Zero & CS Xbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2003, 09:22 PM   #1
Rogue_Warrior
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 11
Default CSX question

Ok, so what's the deal? Is CS:CZ for X-Box going to have any kind of split screen? That'd be a real damn shame if it didn't. There aren't any good multiplayer FPS's coming out until Halo 2, and thats a long ways away. Any reponse from a Ritualistic staff member would be appreciated.
Rogue_Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 09:31 PM   #2
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: CSX question

No splitscreen in CSX. System Link, however, is supported in addition to Xbox Live.
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 11:23 PM   #3
BrushBaron
Level Designer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: CSX question

having split screen requires rendering the level twice. To do that we'd have to sacrifice a lot of what makes CSX unique and fun on the xbox.
BrushBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 03:43 AM   #4
ATimson
Experienced
 
ATimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 127
Default Re: CSX question

"Unique and fun"... Just how different is it from the PC version?
ATimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 01:31 PM   #5
BrushBaron
Level Designer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: CSX question

It's not different than the PC version, but it's different from other xbox games.
BrushBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 02:03 PM   #6
ATimson
Experienced
 
ATimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 127
Default Re: CSX question

Okay. Now I understand. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
ATimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 05:50 PM   #7
Automator
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 401
Default Re: CSX question

I dont get how all this tech talk comes into play. Wouldn't it seem logical that you could match halo on coop and split screen. You have a quake engine based game running on a geforce 3 ti, I would expect these things.
Automator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 06:02 PM   #8
BirdDawg
Experienced
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 113
Default Re: CSX question

Quote:
You have a quake engine based game running on a geforce 3 ti, I would expect these things.
Quake engine games are PC-oriented, so they assume that they are the only game running, getting input from one player on one keyboard/mouse and outputting to one monitor. The whole engine is oriented towards that idea; adding support for 1-3 additional simultaneous players would require a complete rewrite of the engine.
BirdDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 05:19 AM   #9
Automator
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 401
Default Re: CSX question

Thank you for explaining things. I am now at peace with many assumptions i had made.
Automator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 11:45 PM   #10
gunfu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 15
Default Re: CSX question

Quote:
I dont get how all this tech talk comes into play. Wouldn't it seem logical that you could match halo on coop and split screen. You have a quake engine based game running on a geforce 3 ti, I would expect these things.
quake1 is a really old rendering technology. It's based on a vertical scanline software rasterizer that Michael Abrash wrote for the Pentium (1!) chipset. The 3D version of that rasterizer (which came a year later and was written for Rendition Verite and 3Dfx SST1 chipsets) doesn't take advantage of vertex shaders, pixel shaders, vertex buffers, static pushbuffers, or hardware transform and lighting. A half-life engine game like CSX is mostly CPU bound on an xbox, which only has a 600MHz *celeron* CPU.

So you can throw as much video card you want at a half-life engine game; if you're memory and CPU limited, you can't do anything else with it.

So we did some other things to eat up extra fill rate (high dynamic range light bloom, dynamic iris simulation/gamma ramp, detail textures, pixel shader water, etc) that doesn't require extra CPU. Because there's no CPU left, unless the entire engine gets rewritten. On a relatively short development cycle like CSX, there's just not time to do that.

No splitscreen. But you can play 2 players on system link and play coop against bots, or do the same on Live.

Joe
gunfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 12:12 AM   #11
kevin442
Fanboy
 
kevin442's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 813
Default Re: CSX question

HEY ZOSO HALO HAS GONE GOLD YES YES YES [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] SEP 30 ILL BE FRAGGING
kevin442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 01:07 AM   #12
Wolf8218
Veteran
 
Wolf8218's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 480
Default Re: CSX question

no, youll be stuttering !!!
haha if i remember correctly, your machines gonna have to run it at 640x480
Wolf8218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 01:48 PM   #13
zoso
Experienced
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 141
Default Re: CSX question

Quote:
HEY ZOSO HALO HAS GONE GOLD YES YES YES [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] SEP 30 ILL BE FRAGGING
yeah... i can't wait.. i was talking to my friend at gearbox about it... i think i'm more excited than him!
zoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 10:44 PM   #14
Wolf8218
Veteran
 
Wolf8218's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 480
Default Re: CSX question

WOW! i just turned my AGP aperture setting to 256 and WOW what a difference!
Wolf8218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 10:51 PM   #15
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: CSX question

HALO = Miscellaneous
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 06:49 AM   #16
ildon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24
Default Re: CSX question

Quote:
quake1 is a really old rendering technology. It's based on a vertical scanline software rasterizer that Michael Abrash wrote for the Pentium (1!) chipset. The 3D version of that rasterizer (which came a year later and was written for Rendition Verite and 3Dfx SST1 chipsets) doesn't take advantage of vertex shaders, pixel shaders, vertex buffers, static pushbuffers, or hardware transform and lighting. A half-life engine game like CSX is mostly CPU bound on an xbox, which only has a 600MHz *celeron* CPU.

So you can throw as much video card you want at a half-life engine game; if you're memory and CPU limited, you can't do anything else with it.

So we did some other things to eat up extra fill rate (high dynamic range light bloom, dynamic iris simulation/gamma ramp, detail textures, pixel shader water, etc) that doesn't require extra CPU. Because there's no CPU left, unless the entire engine gets rewritten. On a relatively short development cycle like CSX, there's just not time to do that.

No splitscreen. But you can play 2 players on system link and play coop against bots, or do the same on Live.

Joe
http://www.fuhquake.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1686
*ducks*

(Yeah I know it only works for demos so far (so it can totally ignore input...) and that being q1 textures/polycount it isn't exactly fillrate intensive... I'm just messing with you! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img])
ildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.