Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Heavy Metal FAKK2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2004, 03:07 AM   #1
QPsiren
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 4
Default QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

Hello everyone.

I've spent the last week looking through the TIKI docs and the forum, and I'm still having difficulty adding a static model to FAKK2. All I need is to add non-animated models, created with Max5 and skinned, to the game.

From what I gather,
1. create the model in Max with the pivot centred on (0,0,0)
2. add a tag called origin at (0,0,0)
3. assign the skin to material id 1
4. assign a UVW Map to the model and export the skin (I'm testing with a wireframe and Texporter)
5. export the model with the UVOut plugin
6. edit the exported UV file and changed "material1" to "tag_origin"
7. use MAX2TAN to create the .tan file

And then I get stuck. Is there a full routine written somewhere?

After doing this and having problems, I've got some questions.
i) MAX2TAN seems to require an animation .ANM file - but I'm making a static mesh. Any ideas?
ii) should I be using Max Bones or Character Studio's Biped?
iii) scripts seem to refer to .TGA files but all I can see is .FTX files (the "compiled" versions of TGAs). Should model skins be converted to .FTX?

Now if these questions have been answered before, could you please point me towards the relevant thread (although I've done some long searches myself). Many thanks for your help,


QP.
QPsiren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 04:26 AM   #2
senkusha
Experienced
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 113
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

What I've seen Ritual do with their models is to make all the tags starting off at mat ID of 100 and go from there and then let the actual mesh consist of mat ID's starting off at 1. This is just a way to keep the material ID's organized.

If your building non-animated meshes, there's no need to put in a origin tag. Just center the mesh at the origin (0,0,0) in Max and it'll work just fine.

Quote:
i) MAX2TAN seems to require an animation .ANM file - but I'm making a static mesh. Any ideas?
In addition to UVout, there is also ANMout plugin. You need to export a uv file and at least one anm file for each mesh. The UV file contains the material data as well as the mesh data, while the anm data contains only animation data (i.e. the verts of the mesh for each frame of animation exported).

Quote:
ii) should I be using Max Bones or Character Studio's Biped?
You can use either one separately, or you can use a combination of the two, mainly character studio and then use max bones to add bones for hair or capes for example.
One thing though is that with the default tools, you can only use the physique modifier to link the skeleton to the mesh. I personally don't like physique and prefer the skin modifier, so I added skin support to the skelout plugin. Let me know if you need this.

Quote:
iii) scripts seem to refer to .TGA files but all I can see is .FTX files (the "compiled" versions of TGAs). Should model skins be converted to .FTX?
You can use either one. If you specify the .TGA extension the game will search for the file with that extension first and then if it doesn't find it, it'll try looking for the .FTX equvilent.
As to whether or not to use the .FTX format. I would say yes. The TGA format is stored as BGRA as opposed to the FTX format which is RGBA. As I'm sure you know 3d graphics use the RGBA format, so loading a TGA would require the processing time to swap the red and blue components.

Hope that helps. If you have any more questions just shoot them my way.

neil
senkusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 02:42 AM   #3
QPsiren
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 4
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

OK it looks like I was halfway there =) I'll post back tomorrow night (maybe Tuesday) with progress. Many thanks,


QP.
QPsiren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 06:32 AM   #4
calzador
Veteran
 
calzador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 234
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

I have a problem to get my model into FAKK2 too. Made this female model and
she should have this proportions, but that's my problem now. UVW map is
cylindrical but I've problems with the UVW edit to remove the distortions,
because they are so giant. What is the best way to handle this?

calzador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 01:11 PM   #5
QPsiren
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 4
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

Personally I'd cylinder-map the torso only, then planar-map the breasts and add them back onto the torso UV. Or you could sphere-map them.

The trouble is, you've got some droop on the bottom of them which makes them difficult to UV. Maybe tweak the tris a little? I know you said they are how you want them, but that isn't always the best with modelling =)
QPsiren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 04:32 PM   #6
QPsiren
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 4
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

Success! =) Thank god for that. It only took a couple of hours once I sat down and really thought about the process. Here is what I did:

0. create a folder in your FAKK2 folder, under models. name it appropriate to your model
- i always create a QP subfolder so i know that i've created everything under that. so i have models\qp\{whatever}
1. create model in 3DSMax
- if it's a static model, ensure the model pivot is centered on (0,0,0)
2. add UVW Map and UVW Unwrap
3. use Texporter to create a 24-bit TGA texture. save the texture to the custom folder you created before
4. save the model in .MAX format to the custom folder you created before
5. use File|Export and export a .UV file to the custom folder you created before
6. use File|Export and export a .ANIM file to the custom folder you created before\
- if you are creating a static model, set start and end frames to 0
7. open a command prompt and change directory to the custom folder you created before
8. use TGACONVERT (in fakktools\bin) to convert the texture to .FTX, FAKK's own texture format
- always specify the "verbose" option when using this tool, it'll help debug any errors
9. use MAX2TAN to create the FAKK2-format .TAN file from .FTX, .UV and .ANIM files
- always specify the "verbose" option when using this tool, it'll help debug any errors
10. create a .TIK file listing how TIKI should read your custom model
- easiest way is to copy an existing file that does what you want already, and alter for your custom model paths
11. add model to a Radiant map, you should see it appear
- if not, check the steps above
12. compile the map and test ingame, you should see the model

Something I'm going to stress to my students - READ THE DAMN TIKI DOCS SUPPLIED WITH FAKKTOOLS! =)

Many thanks Neil, your pointers really helped. Hope this information is useful to others.


QP.
QPsiren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 05:17 PM   #7
calzador
Veteran
 
calzador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 234
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

Thanks QP, I'll try it your way.

To convert tga to ftx you'll find a better tool on my site .
calzador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 10:43 AM   #8
Aquatarkus
Veteran
 
Aquatarkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Aquatarkus Configs
Posts: 267
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

I do hope you'll be generous with the number of tags on that model so that lamers like me can have a field day!
(if you're planning to share the finished version that is) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
------------------------------------------------------------
script $calbabe attachmodel barbell.tik tag_left_nip scale .025
Aquatarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 07:23 AM   #9
countzero
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 208
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

There's also the SkelOut plugin to export skeleton (=biped) data to hmf2. This allows for the creation of an animatable (player) character.

http://www.ritualistic.com//forums/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=UBB3&Number=87025& amp;Forum=All_Forums&Words=countzero&Match =Entire%20Phrase&Searchpage=0&Limit=100&am p;Old=allposts&Main=87015&Search=true#Post 87025

http://www.ritualistic.com//forums/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=UBB3&Number=87040& amp;Forum=All_Forums&Words=countzero&Match =Entire%20Phrase&Searchpage=0&Limit=100&am p;Old=allposts&Main=87040&Search=true#Post 87040

Or just search on posts by "countzero"...

Note: Files for download have been taken offline by complaints of violating copyrights (calzador), as I bundled a number of examples, including his, in a single zip file.
countzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 04:44 AM   #10
calzador
Veteran
 
calzador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 234
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

Funny stuff, ...a box with 3 bones, ...one of them called origin..
Too bad you haven't found the time to make a new zip; guess you are still
working that much ? - That's really cruel.

The skelout export is no problem anymore, but let me please add
one thing about the tags you'll use: give them a material-id of 100 and more
to make them not drawn.

For me the .tan export is the real tricky thing, haven't found out how to add
tags to .tans, wanted to make some static models with tags to attach Fx,
but I'm not on progress with those tan tags.
Any hints for me?
calzador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 06:35 AM   #11
calzador
Veteran
 
calzador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 234
Default Re: QUESTION - Getting static models into the game

I found it out now. Docs say: the name of the tags material has to begin
with tag_ . But how can I have a material name called tag_ when max calls the
materials by default material and the only choice I have is the number of the
material?
First export your models .UV and .ANIM from max. Then open the .UV file with
a texteditor, you'll see something like this in the first rows:

version 2
nummaterials 3
material 1 material1
material 101 material 101
material 102 material 102
numverts 272

Material 1 is the model, material 101 and 102 are the tags where you want to
attach some special effects later from .tik. The only thing you have to do is
to rename the tag materials, the result should look like this:

version 2
nummaterials 3
material 1 material1
material 101 tag_fire
material 102 tag_smoke
numverts 272

Do the compile with max2tan as usual, with verbose mode enabled you'll notice:
max2tan recognizes the 2 tags when it enters the UV file of your model.
calzador is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.