Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > Star Trek Elite Force II > EF2 Editing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2005, 09:17 AM   #1
Avenger84
Experienced
 
Avenger84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via ICQ to Avenger84 Send a message via AIM to Avenger84 Send a message via MSN to Avenger84 Send a message via Yahoo to Avenger84 Send a message via Skype™ to Avenger84
Default Disappearing patches

I've got an annoying problem with the map I'm working on. Some of the patches become invisible, depending on the players point of view. At first they appear okay, but when change your position they vanish. If you move again they reappear. The worst thing is that these patches are used for a central object, so I can't just say, it doesn't matter.
Do you think the patches could be too large? They're about 5000 units (y-direction).

Here's a picture where all patches are in place


And here some patches have vanished.


The other side of the bridge as it should look like.


And also here some patches disappear.


Please do not judge the colors of my screenshots. The map is kinda dark, so I raised brightness and contrast of the pics.
Avenger84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 02:07 PM   #2
Avenger84
Experienced
 
Avenger84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via ICQ to Avenger84 Send a message via AIM to Avenger84 Send a message via MSN to Avenger84 Send a message via Yahoo to Avenger84 Send a message via Skype™ to Avenger84
Default Re: Disappearing patches

Okay, problem solved. The patches were indeed too large. Now I'm using patches that only reach over one half of the bridge and nothing gets lost anymore.
Avenger84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 09:20 PM   #3
Tempest
Fanatic
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: A rift in space and time running through Cardiff
Posts: 1,829
Send a message via MSN to Tempest
Default Re: Disappearing patches

Quote:
Originally posted by Avenger84:
Okay, problem solved. The patches were indeed too large. Now I'm using patches that only reach over one half of the bridge and nothing gets lost anymore.
Its not the size, ive had those problems with small sized patches/terrain. They just for some reason are corrupted, deleteing the certain patch and remaking is the best way to fix them.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 07:20 AM   #4
Avenger84
Experienced
 
Avenger84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via ICQ to Avenger84 Send a message via AIM to Avenger84 Send a message via MSN to Avenger84 Send a message via Yahoo to Avenger84 Send a message via Skype™ to Avenger84
Default Re: Disappearing patches

I think in this case it was a problem with the size. I've tried it with large patches once more, but the same effect as before occured. This time I made every single patch by hand, to be sure of not copying and corrupted material, but it did not help. After changing back to smaller patches, the problem was gone again.
Avenger84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.