Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Other Stuff > Miscellaneous

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2006, 12:08 AM   #1
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default AGEIA PhysX

What really is this? I visited their website and I guess my mental block kept me from understanding completely. Is it like a second processor I put somewhere? Will it be compatible with my current motherboard and is it really worth getting?
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 02:17 AM   #2
The MiMiC
Veteran
 
The MiMiC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Right here
Posts: 225
Default Re: AGEIA PhysX

It's a physics accelerator.
Basically, it makes stuff go boom better.
Example they used, an exploding truck. On current machines, making it blow up into many small parts and deform, with flames, smoke, and parts flying everywhere takes up a LOT of horsepower from your machine and can slow it down.
With the physics accelerator, it does all the complex math calculations for the smoke, fire, dust, parts, etc. so that the computer can do more special effects with less slowdown.
Kind of like how video cards accelerate graphics so we have pretty GL quake 2, instead of not so pretty software quake 2.
The MiMiC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 12:01 PM   #3
Antosa
Casual
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 40
Default Re: AGEIA PhysX

i'm very interesting at Ageia PhysX.
Graw for esample use it.
Antosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 05:49 PM   #4
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: AGEIA PhysX

Yeah, I downloaded the GRAW demo which is what got me interested. Can it do liquid? I would get one if it could do liquid and then SiN: Episodes starts using it.
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 05:56 PM   #5
CommanderZx2
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Somewhere cold
Posts: 542
Default Re: AGEIA PhysX

If you want to see what it can do, you should watch some of the videos at:
http://www.ageia.com/physxinaction/demos.html

Current list of games that support it:
http://physx.ageia.com/titles.html
CommanderZx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 08:55 PM   #6
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: AGEIA PhysX

I am not really that impressed, or atleast I will wait until next generation PPU's before installing one.
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 09:11 PM   #7
deceiver
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laval, Quebec Canada
Posts: 248
Send a message via AIM to deceiver Send a message via MSN to deceiver
Default Re: AGEIA PhysX

I'll just wait for nvidia's GPU that will have the PPU integrated into it.
deceiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 09:24 PM   #8
CommanderZx2
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Somewhere cold
Posts: 542
Default Re: AGEIA PhysX

Umm... wouldn't that just make the graphics card run slower? Thus causing you to have to upgrade even sooner?

Kinda bad idea...
CommanderZx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.