Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN Episodes > SiN Episodes Tech Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2006, 01:58 PM   #1
theanswer42
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Have played Sin EP ok on my computer, but recently Sin Ep plays the two startup videos and then stops on a title screen and I'm forced to restart, as unable to switch to desktop or access taskmanager. There is a hidden window on screen as the mouse cursor is visible on some parts of the screen and changes to indicate windows edges and button to press, but nothing is visable apart from the background Sin eP graphic !

Other games including HL2 load ok.

Help.
theanswer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:02 PM   #2
ertertwert
Fanboy
 
ertertwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 889
Send a message via AIM to ertertwert
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Have you recently chaned your drivers since you last played?
ertertwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:04 PM   #3
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Also, are you using a personal firewall like ZoneAlarm?
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:06 PM   #4
ertertwert
Fanboy
 
ertertwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 889
Send a message via AIM to ertertwert
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Woah, I didn't expect you to still be posting on a Sunday - mother's day, no less. Just wanted to say we (I) appreciate your help even on your day off (I assume you aren't required to work today - heh).
ertertwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:09 PM   #5
theanswer42
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Yes using zone alarm, but as per Q&A have added the Sinepisodes.exe
theanswer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:11 PM   #6
theanswer42
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Thanks for the response.

No update since install. Nividia 7900GT with 84.21 drivers
theanswer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:57 PM   #7
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Quote:
Originally posted by ertertwert:
Woah, I didn't expect you to still be posting on a Sunday - mother's day, no less. Just wanted to say we (I) appreciate your help even on your day off (I assume you aren't required to work today - heh).
Well, the wife isn't too happy, but I'm taking her out tonight once I finish the first round of testing the patch, so that'll help smooth some stuff out.
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 02:57 PM   #8
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Quote:
Originally posted by theanswer42:
Thanks for the response.

No update since install. Nividia 7900GT with 84.21 drivers
Two questions: Are you using onboard sound, and do you have Microsoft Office installed?
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 04:59 PM   #9
theanswer42
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Yes to on board sound, realtek, nforce 4 chipset.

No to MS office, using Openoffice 2
theanswer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 05:36 PM   #10
theanswer42
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

PROBLEM SOLVED.

Thanks for the response.

Zone Alarm problem. Hadn't allowed server. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
theanswer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 07:05 PM   #11
ElitePickle
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

I have just had the same problem, but with all the games on steam now. What i changed was for the U4 labs freeze i changed my hardware diritX to the highest setting and it worked but then i changed it back and it froze now when i start up the game i get the two intro scens and then this box appears
http://img108.imageshack.us/img108/6695/untitled2cf.png
I press ok and it trys again with no help at all
ElitePickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 07:15 PM   #12
ElitePickle
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

Quote:
Originally posted by ElitePickle:
I have just had the same problem, but with all the games on steam now. What i changed was for the U4 labs freeze i changed my hardware diritX to the highest setting and it worked but then i changed it back and it froze now when i start up the game i get the two intro scens and then this box appears
http://img108.imageshack.us/img108/6695/untitled2cf.png
I press ok and it trys again with no help at all
Sry people a quick restart of my computer fix it.
ElitePickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 08:22 PM   #13
10Stars
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Played Sin EP but now won\'t load the main menu

I also have beaten sin episodes, and now it started crashing at load screen. I have the newest drivers avialble, and have not updated any drivers. And have no viruses.
10Stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.