Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN Episodes > SiN Episodes Editing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2006, 06:39 PM   #1
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Arrow Making An Arena Mode Map

An updated and corrected version of this post is now available in the Wiki!

http://www.ritualediting.com/wiki/?t...Arena_Mode_Map

--------------------
Michael Russell
Coder who tests; Tester who codes
http://www.romsteady.net/

Last edited by Michael_Russell : 07-27-2006 at 07:41 PM.
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 08:23 PM   #2
Sui
Undead Journalist-Reporter Rogue, Ritualistic.com
 
Sui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

It's as if up until this moment the world has been covered in maple syrup, and just as you made this post, a beautiful woman descended from the heavens and licked it all off in one luscious swoop.

--------------------
-Suicide42
Sui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 09:25 PM   #3
UTWarden
Experienced
 
UTWarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 165
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

hhmm I'm forming an Idea. Considering I've Never made a map in my life.....
UTWarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2006, 11:05 PM   #4
ssj3fox
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Can wait to make a map!
ssj3fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:06 AM   #5
PleaseMYOB
Newbie
 
PleaseMYOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael_Russell
We're getting closer to releasing the SDK
Dare I ask how much closer?... or am I gonna get one of those replies that basically tells me to refer to my username... lol

--------------------
The position being taken is not to be mistaken, for attempted education or righteous accusation, only a desription, just an observation of the pitiful condition of our degeneration! FritzOnTheBong-CheatForever
PleaseMYOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:38 AM   #6
CommanderZx2
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Somewhere cold
Posts: 542
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Would that only be for spawning grunts with pistols and to spawn different enemies you would need to create a different entity for it, Like npc_druglab_grunt_shotgun.

Or does it automatically change the enemy to spawn depending on the current challenege?
CommanderZx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 01:09 AM   #7
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Quote:
Originally Posted by CommanderZx2
Would that only be for spawning grunts with pistols and to spawn different enemies you would need to create a different entity for it, Like npc_druglab_grunt_shotgun.

Or does it automatically change the enemy to spawn depending on the current challenege?
For arena mode, it shifts pistol grunts as far as necessary...even up to elites.

--------------------
Michael Russell
Coder who tests; Tester who codes
http://www.romsteady.net/
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 01:10 AM   #8
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

I was going to ask that question Commander, and to add to it, is there any manipulation of the dynamic difficulty (ie only spawn enemies with this exact gun) that mappers can use?

--------------------
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 03:01 AM   #9
IcemanSimo
Experienced
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 177
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

can you design a second level for the arena map.

I have this mad idea to make a map from the library, reception, classroom and canteen area from school it could work as a good map with the right moddifications to make it larger so it isnt boxed in.

--------------------


Is it true that your the man who doesn't sleep, Yes well theres plenty of time to sleep when your dead.
IcemanSimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 09:29 AM   #10
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcemanSimo
can you design a second level for the arena map.

I have this mad idea to make a map from the library, reception, classroom and canteen area from school it could work as a good map with the right moddifications to make it larger so it isnt boxed in.
I made the bare minimum arena mode map: one room. Aside from the limits of the Source engine, you can make your arena maps as large and complex as you want, but try to keep a decent flow to it.

--------------------
Michael Russell
Coder who tests; Tester who codes
http://www.romsteady.net/
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 03:50 PM   #11
wisecode
Experienced
 
wisecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tennessee U.S.A.
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to wisecode
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

A few notes:
Make sure Snap to Grid is always on and try to keep the 1024 grid in mind, make your individual areas in 16 unit increments within those 1024 sectors.
Decrease the size of your grid for detail work but leave it at 16 units most of the time.
Not everything needs to be at least 16 units but radiosity in the Source Engine will behave better.
Where light bleed and weapons fire aren't a concern floors and walls can safely be 8 units thick.
Try to never make any brush thinner than 1.0 units, other than in special cases like illusionary glass for layered viewing effects.
wisecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 06:49 PM   #12
ertertwert
Fanboy
 
ertertwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 889
Send a message via AIM to ertertwert
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

I dabbled in the SDK for HL2 but quickly grew bored. I'm going to try to make a few maps for SiN Eps though.

--------------------
ertertwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 07:00 PM   #13
Xpiredperson
Experienced
 
Xpiredperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Under the Stairs :)
Posts: 146
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Im gonna learn to use SDK properly just so i can make maps for Sin:E
Xpiredperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 10:40 PM   #14
JoelF
Veteran
 
JoelF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

I'm completely ignorant when it comes to this sort of thing, but I'm curious: Is that an intuitive mapbuilding solution, relatively speaking? It seems to require its own syntax and I hope it's not too finicky. It seems reasonable, but it may be a bit deterring for the person whose only experiments making maps was on his cousin's Tony Hawk game years ago? More specifically... me.
JoelF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 11:08 PM   #15
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Lightbulb Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelF
I'm completely ignorant when it comes to this sort of thing, but I'm curious: Is that an intuitive mapbuilding solution, relatively speaking? It seems to require its own syntax and I hope it's not too finicky. It seems reasonable, but it may be a bit deterring for the person whose only experiments making maps was on his cousin's Tony Hawk game years ago? More specifically... me.
This was written assuming you have knowledge of Source and Hammer.

The Valve Developer Community has a lot of resources and tutorials to get you to where you'll be able to understand this, and you can expect a community to grow here as well.

--------------------
Michael Russell
Coder who tests; Tester who codes
http://www.romsteady.net/
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 12:19 AM   #16
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Or you could be real awesome and not even open Hammer. Real mappers use notepad and compile the old school way.
Code:
versioninfo { "editorversion" "400" "editorbuild" "2933" "mapversion" "79" "formatversion" "100" "prefab" "0" } visgroups { visgroup { "name" "Auto" "visgroupid" "1" "color" "93 194 155" visgroup { "name" "Entities" "visgroupid" "3" "color" "123 120 249" } visgroup { "name" "Detail Brushes" "visgroupid" "2" "color" "243 224 97" } } }

--------------------
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 03:52 AM   #17
IcemanSimo
Experienced
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 177
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

i might give it a shot when its released and see what i can do if it does look like i can get anywhere well at least i tried.

ill go back to building websites.

--------------------


Is it true that your the man who doesn't sleep, Yes well theres plenty of time to sleep when your dead.
IcemanSimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 11:08 AM   #18
levelord
Levelord
 
levelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Dallas, Texas, United State of Texas
Posts: 196
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sui
It's as if up until this moment the world has been covered in maple syrup, and just as you made this post, a beautiful woman descended from the heavens and licked it all off in one luscious swoop.
You're a true poet!

--------------------
SUYT
levelord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 11:13 AM   #19
levelord
Levelord
 
levelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Dallas, Texas, United State of Texas
Posts: 196
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenogenetic
I was going to ask that question Commander, and to add to it, is there any manipulation of the dynamic difficulty (ie only spawn enemies with this exact gun) that mappers can use?
I believe you can, but it would subvert the Personal Challenge System.

I made a map (just playing around) with Mutants and even a Quad, but it turns into a simple Bot Match.

--------------------
SUYT
levelord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 01:39 PM   #20
wisecode
Experienced
 
wisecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tennessee U.S.A.
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to wisecode
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Quote:
Originally Posted by levelord
SUYT
Made the Urban Dict:
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=SUYT
wisecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 05:10 PM   #21
PleaseMYOB
Newbie
 
PleaseMYOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Since the maps are compiled into bsp's, are there any plans to include one of the stock maps or such with the SDK for reference?

I found them very useful learning to map for Q3...

--------------------
The position being taken is not to be mistaken, for attempted education or righteous accusation, only a desription, just an observation of the pitiful condition of our degeneration! FritzOnTheBong-CheatForever
PleaseMYOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 05:20 PM   #22
Michael_Russell
Roaming QA Ronin
 
Michael_Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 887
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

We're going to be including three map files.

--------------------
Michael Russell
Coder who tests; Tester who codes
http://www.romsteady.net/
Michael_Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 11:54 PM   #23
ertertwert
Fanboy
 
ertertwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 889
Send a message via AIM to ertertwert
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Hey Michael. I just followed your steps to make an arena map and everything works aside from the fact that the grunt doesn't respawn. He spawns the first time and then never disappears and no more respawn. And yes I have "fade corpse" checked.

--------------------
ertertwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 12:21 AM   #24
wisecode
Experienced
 
wisecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tennessee U.S.A.
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to wisecode
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

1) Open arena_office.vmf in Hammer.
2) Click on Map, Entity Report.
3) Scroll down to npc_template_maker.
a. Double-click to goto the location.
b. Click on the Properties button to open the entity dialog.
4) Look at the Flags and Properties.
...Should make sense after that.
wisecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 12:23 AM   #25
ertertwert
Fanboy
 
ertertwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 889
Send a message via AIM to ertertwert
Default Re: Making An Arena Mode Map

Yeah, I was just about to come back and post about it. You gotta enable "infinite spawn" under the template.

--------------------
ertertwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.