Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN Episodes > SiN Episodes Editing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2006, 08:47 PM   #1
Gantrithor
Rookie
 
Gantrithor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12
Question Entity: Keypad

Short story shorter: How does the "keypad" entity work, what type of VGUI materials does it use, and is it functional?
Gantrithor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 02:55 PM   #2
sebastiannielsen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

I want info about that too...

I have experimented and tried other VGUI materials than "prop_keypad", but that result in a error saying that the textfield "Code" cannot be found.

prop_keyboard works, but If I connect "CorrectCode" to a door, and then set the Combination, then tries that combination, nothing happens with the door...

I really want that entity to work because then I can build cool multiplayer maps with areas where only I can enter, of course filled with good weapons and defense....
sebastiannielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:31 PM   #3
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

I'll figure this out tomorrow and make a wiki about it, they shouldn't be much harder than vgui menus.

EDIT
Use the panel prop_keypad and it should work. I didn't try it, I just looked for the panel.

--------------------

Last edited by Xenogenetic : 09-18-2006 at 04:51 PM.
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 07:12 PM   #4
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

Ok, I have tried every way that I can think of, if a dev could answer this question it would be awesome: How do you enter the combination for the entity in Hammer?

--------------------
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 11:46 AM   #5
sebastiannielsen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

but its not the "combination" field thats is the problem. I have also tried to link the "incorrect" event to the door, but nothing happens.

And the code should show up on the display when entering the code...
sebastiannielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 04:04 PM   #6
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

Well, there wasn't a keypad entity that I can remember in SiN E, so how do you know this? And if you do remember one tell me and I will decompile the map and find out how it works.

--------------------
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:33 PM   #7
sebastiannielsen
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

you know the phones? I think they use the same VGUI material as keypad. Even if theres no map with the keypad entity...

And it complain about cannot find a "Code" textfield when not using prop_keypad, and prop_keypad has an "Code" textfield.
sebastiannielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 03:55 PM   #8
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

They do, but the problem isn't with the material, its the entity. Phones have their own entities.

--------------------
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 04:05 PM   #9
wisecode
Experienced
 
wisecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tennessee U.S.A.
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to wisecode
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

If you guys want a fully functional custom keypad prop check out the Combo Lock Package, file #15:
http://www.sdknuts.com/allfiles.aspx
wisecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 09:28 PM   #10
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

Your zip file is corrupt and still doesn't help fix the entity, I think keypad must have been removed from the code but never from the fgd, because it doesn't seem to work...
...it would be awesome if someone could answer this who knew what was going on.

--------------------
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 04:56 PM   #11
wisecode
Experienced
 
wisecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tennessee U.S.A.
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to wisecode
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenogenetic View Post
Your zip file is corrupt
...Fixed it, thanks.

Wasn't the file itself, I was using a System IO in memory to get a handle on the file, so it can be downloaded in-stream from the server.
Found a bug in my code and corrected it.

You were the only one that let me know it was hosed..Thanks.
wisecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 06:36 PM   #12
Xenogenetic
Addict
 
Xenogenetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: Entity: Keypad

That's a cool idea you used in that vmf, but it would be a lot simpler if Ritual could fix the keypad entity, or explain how it works.

--------------------
Xenogenetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.