Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2000, 11:49 PM   #1
DrWoo McM
Fanboy
 
DrWoo McM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 836
Default POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Sign off.. If you had your choice between the 2, what would you take?

I just order my GeForce 2 from Buy.com CL Annihilator 2.

GeForce 2, has my vote.
DrWoo McM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 12:01 AM   #2
Fay
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: San Diego
Posts: 353
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

I have to see FSAA in person before I could decide. Hows the baby doing Woo.
--------------------------------------

Fay
Fay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 12:11 AM   #3
DrWoo McM
Fanboy
 
DrWoo McM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 836
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Doing good. Thx for asking. It was a matter of price that helped me make the decision. $258 for my retail GeForce 2. I've seen screenshots of FSAA and it looks pretty good on a V5-5500, but it wasn't so much better IMHO that I would be compeled to buy a 3dfx card.
DrWoo McM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 12:58 AM   #4
Wingznut [PEZ]
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 758
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Already chose a V5.

------------------
Wingznut [PEZ]
ICQ #29598363
Wingznut [PEZ] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 01:09 AM   #5
TDCxPhrackR
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: us
Posts: 56
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

V5
TDCxPhrackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 02:31 AM   #6
Ahz
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 514
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

V5500.. but only if I had a TNT/Voodoo2 level video card.. I just don't see the games that push a TNT2/V3 level card hard enough to justify one of these cards.
Ahz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 04:45 AM   #7
ran93r
Addict
 
ran93r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 1,294
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Already grabbed a 55'er.
FSAA isn't really "all that" but it aint half bad
I paid the same price for it as I did for my GeFarce DDR and so far 3dfx hasn't blue screened my ass.

[This message has been edited by Ranger (edited 06-18-2000).]
ran93r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 10:03 AM   #8
Icculus [LoK]
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,477
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

well i been trying to decide to wait for next gen or get a v5 or g2 ,this fsaa thing from the UN-BIAS reviews i have read its no defferent then cranking up the res on your monitor to 1600x1400 or so, ofcourse the obvious apeal of the v5 now is if you have a monitor that cant crank it up , you can now get the detail level not previously availible to them , which is great , but for those of us which CAN crank it up , this option isnt really a big deal
i dont like that the voodoo5 requires its own power source, i have alot of things in my comp and to scramble around to try to fit another *powered* device isnt for me
the g2 ... i honestly cant think of a reason to not get it its fast and smooth the fps are crazy, not to mention its alot cheaper then ive seen v5 5500's, i know i sound nvidia bias, but belive me , i want the BEST i still run my v2 on some games

i guess though g2 is for me , if i dont wait that is , that asus v7700 deluxe is enough to give any true gamer wood

------------------
Kings of the Great Hall have Landed. Time for the new way has come.
www.lok-kingdom.org
ICQ#22919600
Icculus [LoK] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 10:13 AM   #9
Lanik
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Austin, Tx USA
Posts: 2,903
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Pretty much what Icc said, GF2.
Lanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 10:53 AM   #10
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Well, I got the g2.. but I'm kinda wishing I got the v5.. simply cause Deus Ex runs like crap in D3D and their OpenGL is beyond buggy.

------------------
Rome[DaB]???
Secret member of the J*ck*ssNow! club.
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 11:17 AM   #11
Smack2
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: The smoggy hell of DFW, where the buffalo choke to death on the exhaust fumes ..
Posts: 4,414
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

OpenGL for the Unreal engine blows - it's gotta be D3D or Glide. What you need is a PCI V5 to stick in there next to that GF2 ...

------------------
Smack2[SiN]
$20 an hour for this?
Smack2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 03:24 PM   #12
DrWoo McM
Fanboy
 
DrWoo McM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 836
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Results so far:

Votes
------
V5 - 4
GF2 - 5
DrWoo McM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 04:29 PM   #13
Icculus [LoK]
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,477
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

you know smack , that actualy isnt a bad idea , i was running my tnt2 and my v2 together , i used v2 for UT/unreal and powerslide and such , and used tnt2 for q3/sin(ogl games)
unfortunetly the price diff from a v2 and tnt2 and a v5 5500 and g2 is a lil more , but hey if you got the money thats your best bet

btw you cant fault the card for a shotty game come back to the like rome , fire up q3 and then tell me you want a v5

------------------
Kings of the Great Hall have Landed. Time for the new way has come.
www.lok-kingdom.org
ICQ#22919600

[This message has been edited by Icculus [LoK] (edited 06-18-2000).]
Icculus [LoK] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 04:46 PM   #14
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

I don't have Q3


------------------
Rome[DaB]???
Secret member of the J*ck*ssNow! club.
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 05:12 PM   #15
sparK
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,648
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

let me vote for the V5 then. why give up good Unreal engine compatibility to buy a geForce? not to even mention FSAA...
sparK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 05:52 PM   #16
Wingznut [PEZ]
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 758
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

"btw you cant fault the card for a shotty game "

Here's a good analogy... Beta VCRs were very much superior to VHS. But who gives a rip when you can't use it for what you want? Even if you have the best *whatever* in the world, it's not so hot, if it doesn't do what you want it to do.

UT is a "shotty game"? It does exactly what it's intended to do... Run very well in Glide. Maybe nVidia just doesn't give a sh*t. Glide has been open sourced for a while, and nVidia could very well implement Glide into their drivers. Yet, they choose not to.

If I've said it once, I've said it a hundred times... Neither card is simply better than the other. They are just different.

The GTS runs Q3 better, while the V5 runs UT better. From the benchmarks I've seen, they seem to run MDK2 just about the same. The V5 runs FSAA much better, while the GTS does T&L (if that ever comes to be an issue.)


------------------
Wingznut [PEZ]
ICQ #29598363
Wingznut [PEZ] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 10:36 PM   #17
Icculus [LoK]
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,477
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

umm i meant the demo rome has , not UT , my geforce runs UT fine .....

------------------
Kings of the Great Hall have Landed. Time for the new way has come.
www.lok-kingdom.org
ICQ#22919600
Icculus [LoK] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2000, 10:46 PM   #18
Wingznut [PEZ]
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 758
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

Comprende!

------------------
Wingznut [PEZ]
ICQ #29598363
Wingznut [PEZ] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2000, 01:43 AM   #19
TDCxPhrackR
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: us
Posts: 56
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

What is the frames per second point that your eyes/brain can no longer tell the difference? I have heard it is in the 30's, so if both the both the cards push well over 40 fps it doesnt really matter which card has the most "horsepower". By the time games start to really choke the v5 and the g2 in frame rates you will have probably upgraded to a voodoo7 or a geforce 4.
TDCxPhrackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2000, 03:47 AM   #20
FFalcon99
Casual
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 39
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

I got a Geforce Annihilator PRO DDR 32MD , and it works great, only in sin when i grapple lots of times my screen freezes, somethimes even i have to reboot my PC.

Guys in here gave my the advise to lower my frames per second and then it s better but on the other hand i have the impressiom dat it s not that speedy any more
FFalcon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2000, 05:13 AM   #21
Icculus [LoK]
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,477
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

www.reactorcritical.com
this place has all the leaked drivers that nvidia secretly realease so they can have us beta test for them with no obligation.
im running the 530's in win98 and 522 for win2000 i find the 522 for 98 and 2000 to be the best , these 530's just came out , ill let you know

and i belive the point where the human eye cant see anymore is around the 60 fps mark , but hey , i know you say ... if i got 60 fps im good i dont care your geforce/v5 goes up to 80 frames a sec ... think of this
you might get 60 .. but when your in a battle you drop , certain areas of the map make you drop , so you need a 30 frame buffer i feel , if your getting 80 fps, then when you hit the battles , you wil only hit 45-50 as a low .. i feel thats what you want .... a safety buffer

------------------
Kings of the Great Hall have Landed. Time for the new way has come.
www.lok-kingdom.org
ICQ#22919600
Icculus [LoK] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2000, 10:19 AM   #22
Lanik
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Austin, Tx USA
Posts: 2,903
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

UT's rendering engine is shotty--every graphics programmer knows it.

I'm not saying the *game* sucks, just the rendering engine.
Lanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2000, 10:57 AM   #23
Virulent
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 236
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

I'm with Fay. I really want to see what FSAA has to offer before I make my choice. Right now I'm leaning toward the GeForce2 but if FSAA is "all that and a bag of chips" I might just change my mind.
Virulent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2000, 02:49 PM   #24
Lanik
Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Austin, Tx USA
Posts: 2,903
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

I've seen FSAA and it's really not a big deal in FPS's....and that's primarily what I'd play with so it's no biggie for me.

Plus, the framerate drops way too much. If it was free, I'd take it, but it's not...you get V3-like performance at 1024x+/FSAA and that's not acceptable to me.
Lanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2000, 02:57 PM   #25
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: POLL: GeForce 2 | V5-5500

gf2 ownz your nut sack.
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.