Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2000, 04:20 AM   #1
ninken
Fanboy
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Springfield, OH
Posts: 738
Default Windows ME is it for Me?

Ugh, well here comes The Windows New OS for home users they promise a more stable OS but you have to say good bye to DOS and Windows real Mode! Damn now I can't Play DOOM or Duke3D Windows ME is also targeting Gamers better Frame Rates, Better Ping, & More stable! Release Date Setp 16, 2000 It's not like the Windows 2000 Office Version many freaks went out and bought that crappy OS it can't run shit! Here is Cnet review i trust there review because all the other reviews looked bought off by Microsoft!
http://home.cnet.com/software/0-3715...3715-7-1648258
Is Windows Me for Me?
-ninken
ninken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2000, 10:05 AM   #2
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

You wont get better frame rate (it's already been benchmarked and infact scored lower FPS then 98 SE.. there's a report on firingsquad.com).
I can't imagine that the ping would be changed at all since it's not like they changed the tcp/ip stack or anything.


------------------
Rome[DaB]???
Secret member of the J*ck*ssNow! club.
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2000, 10:38 AM   #3
DrWoo McM
Fanboy
 
DrWoo McM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 836
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

My understanding is they did change the IP stack, it uses a stack that is similar to 2000's.

http://www.zdnet.com/pcmag/stories/p...176419,00.html

Here is a review that states they did change it.
DrWoo McM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2000, 10:58 AM   #4
Rome MiB
Levelord Groupie
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: I\'m afraid that\'s confidential.. ok, NY.
Posts: 7,129
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

Oh, mah bad!

------------------
Rome[DaB]???
Secret member of the J*ck*ssNow! club.
Rome MiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 12:04 AM   #5
Dot Jr [UPS]
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: My House!
Posts: 78
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

I got vDSL ninken and man after i installed Win ME man it was so much faster i was hitting on that Speed Tester i was hitting like 75 k a sec and now i am getting like 109 and 110 k a second so it is all good for me... also ninken if you want win me and like dont got a fast speed hit me up man maybe a magic copy of it will end up in your mail box who knows =)

------------------
Come Taste The Dot
........
Did The Dot Taste Good
Dot Jr [UPS] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 12:11 AM   #6
Ryno
Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Dallas,Tx,USA
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

My fps in Q3 tripled with ME!
Ryno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 12:14 AM   #7
Wingznut [PEZ]
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 758
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

My (cable) download speeds have increased by about 25% since I installed WinME. Prior to, my highest d/l speed was 310kb/sec. Since WinME, I've hit over 400kb/sec several times, and the lower 300's are typical.




------------------
Wingznut [PEZ]
Wingznut [PEZ] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 12:27 AM   #8
ninken
Fanboy
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Springfield, OH
Posts: 738
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

Okay Sounds Better than Win 98! I'll give it a try Hey Dot is your copy the Actual Full Version that comes out on CD? Because the release date is Setp 16 and Mircosoft always Makes Last min changes or add more drivers to support! I'll just get it at the store man! I just want to make sure Windows ME don't crash on Me! lol
ninken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 12:33 AM   #9
Ryno
Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Dallas,Tx,USA
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

oops, my fps was better because my settings were back to default...hehe
Ryno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 03:11 AM   #10
Dot Jr [UPS]
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: My House!
Posts: 78
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

Well ninken i got it from a most reliable source lol and anyway any software that you get a little bit early m8ight nopt have some things but i guartee that it wont crach man i have nto found any bugs yea and i do all shorts of weird shit lol

------------------
Come Taste The Dot
........
Did The Dot Taste Good
Dot Jr [UPS] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 01:10 PM   #11
CMB
Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Denton, MD, USA
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

****a Dos Doom!
http://zdoom.notgod.com

There! Install that an put the doom.wad/doom2.wad in the same dir and play!

Sorry about duke...

- CMB
CMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2000, 02:11 PM   #12
ninken
Fanboy
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Springfield, OH
Posts: 738
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

Thanks CMB, when It comes to Doom you know where to go! I'll check around about Duke
or I have to wait to 2-01-2001 for the Duke4ever to come out!
ninken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2000, 11:21 AM   #13
Apocalypse
Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 828
Default Re: Windows ME is it for Me?

I believe DukeGL is a Windows application...it's coming out soon (er than DNF)
Apocalypse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.